Belgium - Tanzania 2006

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by wreckah, Dec 12, 2007.

1. wreckah

wreckah Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hi guys,

i made a big motorcycle trip from Belgium to Tanzania in 2006, and i have finally translated the diary into english. I will post it in this thread below.

enjoy!
    cheers, Jan

ps I'm the one with hair ;-)

[​IMG]
  2. wreckah

wreckah Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Belgium - Tanzania 2006

Let me start by introducing myself: my name is Jan De Man ('Manneke'), i am a civil-engineer architect from Ghent, Belgium, and i run a little company which does mostly CAD drawing and websites etc...Business is going fine, but it's about time for a change...Anyway, I am a biker with a passion, and i owned all sorts of bikes in the last couple of years: they were never the fastest nor the best looking bikes, but they all had one thing in common: character! ( in other words: there was always something wrong with them ;) here's the list: Kawi GPZ500S, Suzi SV650S, Suzi TL1000S (x3), husky SM610, V-raptor 1000)

I commute daily on my bike, and once or twice a year i go on a big biking holiday. After having travelled throughout Europe a couple of times, i felt confident enough to take on a real adventure. Since a few years i learned to wrench on my bikes myself, and this experience will prove to be very important in this story.

Between 3 January 2006 and 10 March 2006 i rode from Belgium to Tanzania (Africa) together with my dear friend Jan Gevaert ('Koko'), who is going to live there permanently. He owned a restaurant and bar in Ghent for 13 years, and he was fed up with the hard life of being in that business, and decided to part with Belgium alltogether, and live the good life in Tanzania.

Together, we wrote a diary of our experiences on this awesome trip, which we hope will be fun to read.

Enjoy!
    Manneke
  3. wreckah

wreckah Been here awhile

Oddometer: