Best applications for trip planning

Discussion in 'Trip Planning' started by moto_lover, Aug 28, 2019.

1. moto_lover

moto_lover n00b

Oddometer:
    Hello!

I am a newbie here who recently discovered the love for riding. As I searched the forum, it seemed like there are no posts specifically regarding the topic I wanted to talk about or these posts are already old. So I wanted to know what are your favorite websites or applications for planning your trips? Not only the routes, but also with an option to see some motorcycle friendly accommodations, places to visit, cafes, bars or that kind of stuff. I would like to hear different experiences.
  2. Suncoaster

Suncoaster Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Where the girls are green and the grass is pretty.
    Hi and Welcome

Good question. It depends on the trip.

For research, advrider, wikipedia and tripadvisor.
    For mapping, paper maps, mappite.org, Osmand, Google maps, Australia topo maps app, transaustraliatrail.com.au, and state map sites.
    For flights and bookings, Tripit and google calendar.
    For booking, booking.com, agoda and airbnb.
    For camping in OZ, youcamp, NSW Parks and Wildlife, and campermate.

Location specific tourist information agencies, many localities have a dedicated app.

Finding good coffee: Beanhunter

Currently testing izi.travel (audioguides) and route.id
    moto_lover likes this.
  3. AlfromNH

AlfromNH Been here awhile Supporter

Oddometer:
    I like furkot.com
    Traxx and moto_lover like this.
  4. nickguzzi

nickguzzi Long timer

Oddometer:
    I'm in Europe too, so this should work if that is where you are thinking of riding/exploring.
    Via Michelin.com scalable maps as per Michelin, but scalable. Zoomed right in, you get every street name, unlike the approcimation you get with google.
    Route panning option.