Best GPS for South America

Discussion in 'GPS Tracks - Mexico, Central & South America' started by blazeafar, Nov 25, 2005.

1. blazeafar

blazeafar Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hi all, I am new to this GPS stuff and looking to buy.
    I am interested in a hand held unit that would be best suited for use in South America (mainly Brazil).
    I am leaning toward the Lowrance IFinder PHD at the moment but have a concern about the maps available for south of the border.
    Any thoughts?

See; we do need a GPS forum!

Thanks in advance;
    Blaze
  2. brfinley

brfinley Brooster Supporter

Oddometer:

Here is one source: Portal GPS.

From what I know about this, which isn't evertything, you might consider sticking to Garmin. Most of the material I have seen about South America refers to Garmin maps and hardware. Also, Garmin supports licensing for third party developers to use their file format: MapSource Developers (although there is nothing for Brazil yet).

Maybe you could try contacting these sources for a better opinion.
  3. bmwktmbill

bmwktmbill Traveler

Oddometer:
    Hola,
    I rode my BMW thru Brazil and the rest of North, Central and South America lat year. I used a Garmin E map unit with a 128 meg memory card and World Map for those areas loaded up on the card. That is all Garmin has for Central and South America. I was never really lost, confused sometimes yes. I had paper maps as well of course. If you buy the Footprints guide book it has fair maps in the back. You will be fine. I rode everywhere from the Pan AM to Bolivia to Tierra del Fuego and World map was all I really ever needed, after all you need some excitement, not just to follow a red carpet to Tierra del Fuego to piss in the Beagle Channel.