1. eNewsletter Sign Up

Best GPX-compatible GPS app for Android

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by GravelRider, Mar 23, 2018.

1. GravelRider

GravelRider AKA max384 Supporter

Oddometer:
    I've used GPS before, like Google Maps, TomTom, and the like, but I've never used GPX tracks before. I want to ride the MABDR, and therefore need a good app for it. I downloaded the GPX file from the BDR website and then downloaded the GPX Viewer app from the Play Store on my phone. It appears to work okay, but I have no idea how to really test it out, as I'm not near the MABDR track currently.

What apps do you guys recommend for following GPX tracks? I don't need to make my own tracks. I just need it to follow tracks already previously made.
  2. ohgood

ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

Oddometer:
    Osmand = easiest
    Oruxmaps= steeper learning curve but lots of features
    Locus= more features than you can shake a stick at

If it's just a bdr , Osmand would probably suit you best for all the street/gravel. For offroad though, oruxmaps or locus are wicked good.

Here is locus displaying the mabdr, using Google terrain as the background map...
    Screenshot_2018-03-23-20-39-45.png

And an idea of just how cool the locus database for handling thousands of tracks and waypoints is.

Screenshot_2018-03-23-20-38-42.png

When you need maps, check out openandromaps, they're free.
  3. GravelRider

Oddometer:
    I missed my notification for this reply. Thanks for the suggestion. I will actually be using it for the MABDR. I had looked around and had it narrowed down to Locus or Osmand. I'm going to go with Osmand. Thanks!
    ohgood likes this.
  4. GravelRider

Oddometer:
    By the way, what is the difference between Osmand and Osmand+?
  5. ohgood

Oddometer:

the + version is after you donate. I don't remember if it has any added functionality or not. I kick a few dollars to Osmand and locus every year.
    GravelRider likes this.
  6. ThomasD