Big Bikes Invade 7 Mts Dual Sport!

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by Nightstalker, Jun 18, 2006.

1. Nightstalker

Nightstalker YO BUDDYPAL!

Oddometer:
    Who says big bikes can't run dual sport events?? I, for one, sure don't!! You all probably already knew that.

I met up with TechieGuy and some buds riding a KTM 640, KTM 950, and a BMW 1200GS.

The regular Jim Thorpe guys all bailed out leaving me as the lone representative (aka Lone Ranger, since we're in a state forest), a heavy burden to bear. I was however, up to the task, and the Jim Thorpe ADVRider legend continues.

The ride starts at 7 Mountains Campground, in the Bald Eagle State Forest, near State College, PA.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Some of my RORR brothers were there. I didn't get any pictures of those rat bastards. Of course, they were all on full on dirt bikes...CHEATERS. OK, I may have taken one picture. Getting ready to get going!
    [​IMG]
  2. Nightstalker

Oddometer:
    It's my first time at this event and I'm not familiar with PATRA's nomenclature of "MAIN", "CHALLENGING", and "DIFFICULT" and how these relate to big bike abilities. So, I asked a PATRA member the nuances of the different ratings, to which a reply came as, "You want to ride a what? KTM 950? Here? Well, you should be OK on the "MAIN", I don't recommend riding the options." Those sound like fighting words to me! But I refrained and kept my composure! I'll show him, I can drag my bike through the options with the best of them! I'm a legend!(in my own mine!)

I started the ride on the main loop riding with my above pictured RORR buddies, with the intent of riding the first option and then hooking up with the TechieGuy crew somewhere after returning to the main loop.