BMW G650X Challenge Thread Index

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by GB, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. gumbellion

    gumbellion Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    685
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I posed in the exhaust thread, but it really should have went here to get seen.
    Motorcycle superstore has Leo Vince exhaust on for 310, and it is free shipping. I have been shopping since April and its the best price I have come on yet, so I ordered one up
  2. Tomdog

    Tomdog Mapaholic

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    666
    Location:
    Kiwi on the Gold Coast. Australia
    Thanks for the info above.
    I am not familiar with that model. May not have been sold here in OZ. Will get on the dog and bone today.
  3. DaveyDave

    DaveyDave Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Oddometer:
    294
    Location:
    SE Queensland, Upsidedown land
    I wanted to go private mate, but dude to a few different circumstances (previous bike being nicked, redundancy and then an injury at my last job) and now with just starting a new job the only way I've been able to get finance is through a deal. I know it's going to cost more in the long term as I've gotta start from scratch but this way I'll get her exactly as I want her
  4. dirtsurfer

    dirtsurfer Adventourer

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Oddometer:
    4,560
    Location:
    In the garage
    So you got the one from Procycles?
  5. Tomdog

    Tomdog Mapaholic

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    666
    Location:
    Kiwi on the Gold Coast. Australia
    Down to the Honda shop today. That model never made it to Australian shores.
    Looks like I'll have to bite the bullet and buy the genuine Brembo lever (best price AU$67.00) as I am running out of time before the weekends ride.
  6. Dukehunt

    Dukehunt Lost in Translation Nev 2.0 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,632
    Location:
    Melbourne North
    This is just the beginning Dave, there is so much work to be done and so many FARKLES to buy it can be a money pit.

    But welcome to the world of XC ownership
  7. Roof of Africa

    Roof of Africa Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Oddometer:
    28
    Location:
    Lesotho, Country of no fences
    Good question, are you talking the complete wheel or just the rim?
  8. The Jester

    The Jester Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,395
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I remember something about a husky rim being the same. Not sure where I read it but worth checking out. If not twalcom will do a new excel rim.
  9. gumbellion

    gumbellion Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    685
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I was talking the whole wheel. I deleted the post because I talked to woodys wheels and they confirmed that they were different and I could not use the 450 wheel on the 650
  10. Roof of Africa

    Roof of Africa Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Oddometer:
    28
    Location:
    Lesotho, Country of no fences
    Ok, So now the question is; does the 450 rim fit onto the 650 hub because surely the 450 cannot be made of putty like the 650 rim?
  11. Colebatch

    Colebatch "Moto Porn"ographer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    4,229
    Location:
    Schmocation
    Now there's optimism ! ...

    I would reckon they are also cheap Behr rims. Probably exactly the same except the colour. BMW have never spent money on good rims.

    If you are going to keep the same hubs (and there is no reason to change hubs unless you are changing the front forks), then just get Excel rims for them. Places like HAAN Wheels in holland or Talon in the UK, or any other major Excel rim dealer will supply and lace Excel rims to stock hubs. Will be cheaper and 10x stronger than trying to get 450 rims. If you really want a bulletproof front rim, spend the extra 30-40 quid and get the Excel A60 rim.
  12. Roof of Africa

    Roof of Africa Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Oddometer:
    28
    Location:
    Lesotho, Country of no fences
    Point Taken!
  13. BaldEagle

    BaldEagle Adventure Bound

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Oddometer:
    39
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD-USA
    Well, this led light install is driving me crazy. After doing the above, I redid everything with the resistors spliced inline on the turnsignal wires (actually got a diagram from R&G in the UK). Now the turnsignals light up when I turn them on and blink at the correct frequency, but right and left rear turnsignals as well as the front blink as 4-way flashers whenever I activate either turnsignal. Help!! What am I doing wrong and how do I correct it? Hopefully someone out there has run into this before and solved it. I hate electrical work!!
  14. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,219
    Location:
    Tacoma - ish, WA
    Sounds like somehow you've cross-connected the signal wires so that if you activate either the left or the right signal it makes both of them flash. The front signals are on the same circuit so they mimic the rears. I don't know how you could have done that. Might be time to have a friend take a look. A new set of eyes can sometimes see things that we can't.
  15. BaldEagle

    BaldEagle Adventure Bound

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Oddometer:
    39
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD-USA
    The ground wires of each of the lights are the only thing crimped together to connect to the OEM ground wire. That was the same in the original stock wiring, so I don't know why this is different. When connecting the resistors does it matter which of the two wires connect to + and which to -? They are unmarked and I figured a resistor just flows current through either direction.

    UPDATE:
    SUCCESS ! ! Swapped the positive and negative connections for each indicator and VOILA, they now work correctly! Thanks to all for your suggestions.
  16. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,219
    Location:
    Tacoma - ish, WA
    Hey great! But, just so I understand, are you saying that the LED bulbs each have a "+" and a "-" terminal and you had them reversed? Not sure how this cross-wiring would have caused the "4-way flasher" effect. Weird.
  17. pampaX

    pampaX Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Oddometer:
    445
  18. Niedz

    Niedz Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    646
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    to me that seems like everytime the tight spot comes around it pulled the sprocket unevenly bc of the play you mentioned.
    were you running your chain tension on the tight side?
  19. Geoffster

    Geoffster Fool - Born This Way

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,384
    Location:
    Montecillo de Nieto, SMA, Guanajuato, MX
    I've R/R-ed my front sprocket at least 6x -- either to change sizes or replace worn parts -- and I note that getting this simple system back together properly is an opportunity to get it wrong.

    It's very easy to get a false sense that "everything's in place and everything's tight."

    The Belleville washer -- the cone-shaped one -- doesn't automatically center as you tighten things. You have to help it center.

    If it's off-center, everything goes wrong. You get a false sense of tightness, and even if you use a torque wrench, it won't really be tight.

    Even if everything is put together properly, I've had the bolt come loose. Blue Loctite isn't specified, but I and a few others use it.

    That's been my experience. YMMV
  20. Niedz

    Niedz Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    646
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    oh great, now i have to go check mine! :D