BMW G650X Challenge Thread Index

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by GB, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. backyardorganics

    backyardorganics Dubletruble

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    high desert
    i'll take a set if available
  2. Colebatch

    Colebatch "Moto Porn"ographer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    4,229
    Location:
    Schmocation
    if Niedz runs out, I know Erik at HotRod Welding in the Netherlands has a few sets too
  3. Niedz

    Niedz Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    646
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    backyardorganics-

    topdog claimed the last pair,
    but if someone in the original interested group flakes out I'll let you know.

    I will send out a PM with the details to you Aussie guys.
  4. Baloo

    Baloo Itinerant jackass Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Oddometer:
    7,447
    Location:
    I cover the waterfront in Norfolk Virginia.
    Banshee and I have had these for a couple years and have been worth their weight in gold . great hard parts!
  5. motoreiter

    motoreiter Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,315
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Uh, what are these hard parts for? Not very obvious where you mount them?
  6. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,087
    Location:
    Tacoma - ish, WA
    They mount between the driver footpegs and the frame, using the footpegs mounting bolts. If you're already using that location to mount engine guards, you can still mount the hard parts but you'll need to source some longer bolts.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Their purpose is to take the hard hits that would otherwise impact the frame. They do a good job at this. On the other hand, they reduce your ground clearance, making hits more likely.
  7. Colebatch

    Colebatch "Moto Porn"ographer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    4,229
    Location:
    Schmocation
    As Drone mentions above, you need 5mm longer bolts all round, as the guards are 4mm thick stainless. Tom if you get them from Erik, he will supply the bolts.

    I got a set powdercoated in red.

    I like a sneaky flash of red coming from underneath ...

    [​IMG]
  8. MTBiker78

    MTBiker78 ENDURO Wanabee

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Oddometer:
    184
    Location:
    Poland
    Small ride report from our last ride on ukrainian part of Carpatian Mountains.
    We rode on the poloninas Runa, Borżawa and Krasna. The movie was made only with GoPro camera.
    XChallenge, Husky TE610, F650GS, F650GS Dakar


    <object width="400" height="300"><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true" /><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" /><param name="movie" value="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=29265332&amp;server=vimeo.com&amp;show_title=1&amp;show_byline=1&amp;show_portrait=0&amp;color=&amp;fullscreen=1" /><embed src="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=29265332&amp;server=vimeo.com&amp;show_title=1&amp;show_byline=1&amp;show_portrait=0&amp;color=&amp;fullscreen=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowscriptaccess="always" width="800" height="600"></embed></object><p>

    Ride Safe
    Lucas
  9. milosbgd

    milosbgd X

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Oddometer:
    60
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Hi, could u tell me, did you change the original shifter and from which bike , because the stock shifter has no rubber on it?

    Thanks Milos
  10. aprilian

    aprilian Can I change this?

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Oddometer:
    478
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    My XMoto has that same folding rubber shifter. As second owner, I just assumed it was stock.
  11. DRONE

    DRONE Dog Chauffeur

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,087
    Location:
    Tacoma - ish, WA
    I am the first owner. That's my stock shifter.
  12. Niedz

    Niedz Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    646
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    the x-country has a shorter shifter with a rubber coating.
    the x-challenge has a slightly longer shifter with a knurled aluminum tip.
    i really like the extra length on the x-chall shifter.
  13. 2wheeldog

    2wheeldog Adventourer

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Oddometer:
    18
    No doubt the x-c's are crap.
    The G450 2010 has Saxess which are very good
    Not sure that its better than an excel or other high end rim.
    Let your wallet do the walking between them and other high end rims (Excel, etc, which I have no experience with).
  14. Colebatch

    Colebatch "Moto Porn"ographer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    4,229
    Location:
    Schmocation
    Thats certainly better than the stock Behr rims ... The Saxess are still Behr rims ... they are the top of the line Behr but still Behr.

    I also have never compared them side to side, but I have noted in pictures that the Speedbrain G450RR bikes seem to have changed the stock rims to Excel signature series rims
  15. G-RDR

    G-RDR gedubya

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Oddometer:
    118
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
    I read a post from someone who put the TT tank on, but they plumbed it into the fuel system instead of drilling a hole in the stock tank per the directions. Said it worked fine.

    Anyone have any idea where this post is?

    I have been bouncing all over the site looking for it.:jump

    Thanks!
  16. tbarstow

    tbarstow Two-wheelin' Fool Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    5,070
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    We have posted it multiple places.

    Flip the petcocks around, plumb them together with a T, then run it up to the main tank vent.
  17. The Jester

    The Jester Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,389
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I am also considering shelling out for the TT tank but have the opposite question.

    I'm perfectly happy to plug into the tank breather as I know this works. If you install using the kit and drilling the tank can you fill both tanks through the filler on the TT tank, or does the fuel not flow through fast enough? My luggage set-up covers the filler on the stock tank so filling from the front would be useful, but I don't want to drill the tank if it isn't going to work.
  18. tbarstow

    tbarstow Two-wheelin' Fool Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    5,070
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    You have to use both fillers, as the little petcocks and small ID line will not flow enough to allow you to only fill through the TT tank if you drill the main tank or transfer through the main tank vent.

    You're stuck having to mess around getting to the main tank filler no matter what you do. I tried the TT gas cap and it leaks like a screen door on a submarine so try not to break your key off in the main tank filler.

    .
  19. G-RDR

    G-RDR gedubya

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Oddometer:
    118
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
    Anyone document the procedure with pictures? Link name and page if you know it. I do better with pictures.:eek1
  20. bigdon

    bigdon Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,747
    Jester , you can fill both tank from the top but you have to wait for the gas to drain down.
    I have to keep my petcocks closed until I burn some fuel off the main tank. If I don't the main tank gascap will leak fuel. I usually run the main tank until the fuel light comes on( I will see how many miles I have run and divide by Two to get an idea of my mileage that day. I will then know about what range I can expect from that fill) then open petcocks and run until the light comes on again. I will then stop with the rear lower than the front and let the remainder of the aux. tank drain into main then shut petcocks. I can then run until the light comes on again and know that I only have .6 gallons left!