BMW G650X Challenge Thread Index

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by GB, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. snooker

    snooker AttitudeIsEverything

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,017
    Location:
    Loveland, Colorado
    SWEEET !
    I ordered my Mosko Reckless 80 yesterday. Been a long time debating. Still planning on getting an XTank and making a custom rack just to support it on the sides a little less obtrusive than a full rack, and cleaner lines and more custom fitted than any I have found.
    XallengeXccepted likes this.
  2. snooker

    snooker AttitudeIsEverything

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,017
    Location:
    Loveland, Colorado
    I too got my Yacugar from Ted. I would recommend it or maybe even better a Hyperpro. But Ted is good to work with. Forget an XCountry shock (either the shorter '09 or longer '07). To do it right I believe you need to decide how long a shock you really want for your riding style - mainly how much travel you want for off road. Check out the shock dimensions on my website.
  3. snooker

    snooker AttitudeIsEverything

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,017
    Location:
    Loveland, Colorado
    Just pointing out that "c-m" riding 2 up: they were on an '07 XCountry which has a much thicker hence more comfy seat than the '09 XCo. I have an '07 XCo and have found the seat tolerable but I stand up a lot.
  4. snooker

    snooker AttitudeIsEverything

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,017
    Location:
    Loveland, Colorado
    I could use a left rear turn signal if anybody wants to part with theirs.... Someday I'll go to LED but for now I'm tired of repairing mine over and over... thanks.
  5. e28rusty

    e28rusty Fool

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    254
    Location:
    Willamette valley, OR
    I'll call Ted on Monday and get it figured out. I also sent an email to These Guys in UK It seems that even with shipping, the hyperpro would be cheaper than a yacugar, thank you brexit.
  6. daze55556

    daze55556 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Anyone using inline filters? Possible to install on the line coming directly from the tank after the safety valve?
  7. rockydog

    rockydog just a guy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,226
    Location:
    okieland
    this is the smaller acerbis mounted on a 1/8" aluminum plate, I'm going to mount a MSR tank at an angle = to the frame. that and the stove bottle should give me 200 miles. Cost for all was about $25 thru Ebay

    [​IMG]
    keepshoveling likes this.
  8. DESERT SCORPION

    DESERT SCORPION SINGLE TRACK

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Oddometer:
    205
    Location:
    SINGLE TRACK IN THE WOODS
    Try this place.
    http://www.oppracing.com/brands/5-brembo_high_performance/
  9. Grunt

    Grunt I Am Carl Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Oddometer:
    6,654
    Location:
    Ocean Shores, Washington

    Yeah, I have already gone through OPP Racing. I have bought other things from them and had excellent results.

    However, it looks like no one really makes a kit for the PS13. OPP Racing lists individual parts to rebuild the master cylinder, but when I search for them by part number nothing comes up.

    There are other PS13's listed by OPP Racing which are designed for other motorcycles and they come with their own brake switches. I checked the handlebar size and they are all designed for 22mm bars. The XC has a 28mm bar which tapers to 22mm at the mounting point so that should work.

    I'm going to order one of these other PS13's and give it a try. It's more than I wanted to pay, but if it means getting my bike back on the road I'll do what I have to do. I'll let you know how it works.


    Grunt
  10. hugues

    hugues Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    29
    OK, the problem is related to the side stand after all...(I think...) Len, you were right
    This is what happens:
    1. stand down, in gear, clutch in - no
    2. stand down, neutral - yes
    3. stand up, neutral or in gear - yes
    I would have thought that if it was the side stand switch, the bike would not start in 2.
    Any one know which part is at fault? Thanks all

    BIKE-R likes this.
  11. Meriden

    Meriden Yea whatever

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,251
    Location:
    In the garden behind the dacha
    I may still have a left. It's be next weekend before I can dig it out and confirm. I'll let you know if no one comes up with one between now and then.

    m
  12. Dutchgit

    Dutchgit Completely clogless

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,766
    Location:
    Герма́ния
    Interesting and well explained video about conventional oil vs synthetic oil.

    rockydog likes this.
  13. Len

    Len Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Oddometer:
    5,944
    Location:
    North Alabama
    No parts are faulty, that is how it is supposed to work. The switch is meant to keep you from taking off with the stand down; therefore, it kills ignition power when in gear with the stand is down. If you have the bike running, clutch pulled, and drop the stand, it should kill the engine. The inverse is it won't start.
  14. hugues

    hugues Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    29
    Except that it used to start with the stand down, in gear and clutch in. Now it does not.
    I am keen to get it sorted if it is a partial failure to avoid likelyhood of future problems. Cheers

  15. jjmead1

    jjmead1 now THAT"S a bike!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Oddometer:
    844
    Location:
    don't boulder my Golden, CO
    boiling over issue...( engine ice )

    Just started recently.
    I rode 8 miles to work and noticed it dumped fluid at a light. Fan was running. ( 90+ degrees F outside temp )
    Decided to do oil change.
    Ran engine for 7 minutes or so waiting for fan to kick on so i could check the oil level. Before the fan could come on I caught the fluid boiling out the radiator cap. ( man I hate that cap ).
    I have no idea how to trouble shoot this and the dealers here are pretty crap. Most won't fix anything, just replace. Fan works.

    Would you?
    1. replace Thermostat?
    2. replace Double Temperature Switch?
    3. replace Water Pump Shaft?

    I have the reprom cd and hope it can walk me through the steps needed to perform the tasks. Searched this thread and gathered what information I could. Any information would be appreciated. TIA
  16. Len

    Len Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Oddometer:
    5,944
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Understood, check here, there is a description of the circuit and wire loops to bypass the switch. It was written for the F650gs, but the switch and function are the same. It appears you have a harness fault somewhere up the line, perhaps one wire is shorting to the frame. Give it a good inspection, you will likely find the problem where the harness has taken a shot.
    treps likes this.
  17. Dutchgit

    Dutchgit Completely clogless

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,766
    Location:
    Герма́ния
    You only need to bleed the cooling system properly. Take out the screw in front of the plugs on the right hand side before you start to fill it up. Only put it back in when the coolant starts to come out.

    [​IMG]
  18. TobyG

    TobyG be happy :)

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,373
    Location:
    Nemčija
    (replied in the quote)
    Stromius, Fasco and keepshoveling like this.
  19. kito

    kito Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Oddometer:
    495
    Location:
    cheshire , England
    Have you had a look if the gear selector/neutral switch is ok ? They can eventually brake and the engine won't even start or change gear eventually if it's on it's way out
  20. daze55556

    daze55556 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Intermittent high idle speed.

    I've noticed a couple of times over the past few months my XC seems to idle at higher revs. When I start the bike it drops down to normal idle after 30 seconds or so then after I ride the bike for 5-10 minutes I'll pull up at the lights and the idle is high. Not revving hard, just like when it first starts up. If I turn the bike off and start again it returns to normal idle.

    This has only happened a couple of times, having a look at some previous posts there is some information about not touching the throttle on start up, which is something I never do, in addition I always let the bike drop to normal idle before riding.

    I'm not overly concerned and assume it is a computer type issue. More curious than anything else.