BMW G650XCH Touratech Install Bash Plate, Rotor Guard, Bar Risers

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by lsellers, May 5, 2007.

1. lsellers

lsellers a DSRIDER

Oddometer:
    Firstly I have to apologize, I'm new at wrenching and posting this sort of thing but loved the instructions on how to install the hb crashbars on my GS and really appreciated the attention to detail. This won't get close to that but maybe I'll get better. I haven't done much as far as working on my GS, I let the local shop do most of it but that'll change. My growing bike is the g650xchallenge. I plan on wrenching on it and becoming familiar/confident in fixing things myself.

I took the time today to install the Touratech Bar Risers, Bash Guard and Rear Break Cover. Just got the bike back from it's first service of 600 miles, thats why it's clean. Later I'll do the canister removal. You'll see in the Bar Riser section an easteregg of the light protecter.

The Bar Risers:

Conceptually very easy to install. I've helped a buddy install bar risers on his R1150 R and I thought, sure.....I can do this no prob.......it'll be a 30 min job and I'll be on to the next thing.

On an earlier ride I had mangled my handlebars and they were slightly bent to the left, so I was familiar with how the bars were mounted....bolts from below!

Touratech's instructions didn't mention how much trouble I'd have with the right side bolt, but more on that later. There isn't a lot of room to work between the forks so step 1 was to remove the light/instrumentation panel to clear some room up, and the beak. Step 2 is to install the risers (sorry no pics but they fit right under stock) and replace old bolts with longer bolts. Step 3 is to put everything back together.

I started with taking out the display screws
    [​IMG]

disconnected the right/left front blinkers
    [​IMG]

I kept the lights hooked up and just propped it up on top of the bars using the break cable for tension
    [​IMG]