Brake Pedal Extension Project

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by mork, Jul 20, 2020.

1. mork

mork Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I’ve been shopping around for a brake pedal extension for my 2011 F800GS, and striking out. When standing with proper boots, I’m finding the rear brake to be a complete guessing game. This unsettles me as we have steep terrain full of baby heads and loose downhill sections here in CO. When I need my rear brake, I want it right now and don’t enjoy hunting for it.

I’ve seen the Alt Rider dual platform thing, and while I see the appeal, two reasons I’m not buying it are:

1. The bike is being ridden aggressively off road - that means the occasional dirt nap and I don’t like the idea of a non-folding rock anchor and clutch cover oil drain.
    2. The problem is the height and “findability” when standing. A little baby ledge for the standing position is unacceptable.

Being handy with the wrong tool for the job, I found a length of 1/4” aluminum and my trusty grinder.

Rough cuts are in:
    93565E7E-3C60-4349-B101-3EECE0D65FED.jpeg
    I am particularly proud of that notch.
  2. mork

mork Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Progress from this morning: drilled mud drain holes, countersunk holes for M6 screws, and properly angled and tapped holes for a M6 helicoil on the lower mounting pad.

The pilot holes are in for the pedal cleats - I’m just waiting for the small M4 tap to arrive.

A0FFBAF0-255B-49A8-BE63-722BFC0D3ED0.jpeg
    nvklr likes this.
  3. mork

mork Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I could add in a provision for a brush wire cable thing that I have leftover from my 300’s skid plate. Anyone have any issues with crap wedging between the pedal and frame where it could be useful?
  4. mork

mork Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Done! Testing scheduled with some trail/canyon riding this weekend.

78726FA8-C11B-4519-B3BC-438EC8291BBD.jpeg
    dpike, ROMAD, Loutre and 1 other person like this.
  5. nvklr