Brand new Sena won't update

Discussion in 'The Rockies – It's all downhill from here...' started by brianbrannon, Sep 9, 2019.

  1. brianbrannon

    brianbrannon They'll ride up with wear

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,551
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Anybody in Denver have a Windows 7 computer? That's what their tech support says I need to use
    #1
  2. Xcelite

    Xcelite Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    151
    Location:
    Corner of No and Where.
    That's ridiculous. I love my Sena 20s, but telling someone to use a 10yr old OS that is 4 months from End-of-Life is complete BS. Their software works fine on my Win10 machine by the way. It looks and runs like a freshman year programming project, but it works.
    For what it's worth, on my 20S, their "proprietary" charging cable is needed to do the updates. It is chamfered so the base of the connector doesn't stop the metal bits from going in far enough. I've trimmed back a few other cords that I am able to use to charge the unit, but only their OEM cable works to do the updates still. Not sure if that applies to the newer units.
    #2
  3. MeterPig

    MeterPig Meh

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Oddometer:
    18,455
    Location:
    Parker, Colorado...
    That's interesting I was all about the Cena but here in this makes me wonder
    #3
  4. RideFreak

    RideFreak Torque Junky

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Oddometer:
    13,825
    Location:
    Out in the NM Dez somewhere
    I had trouble also, it took updating it on another computer for it to work, someone else I know had the same issue. Some USB devices are more compatible than others.
    #4
  5. oldmanb777

    oldmanb777 Just say NO to socialism!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Oddometer:
    8,053
    Location:
    Peoples republic of Kalifornia, East...Kolarado
    Don't update. I have never updated my Sena's, they are reliable and have worked fine since I got them.
    #5
  6. Xcelite

    Xcelite Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    151
    Location:
    Corner of No and Where.
    There were some features added and a great increase in battery life with my 20s due to firmware updates.
    #6
  7. RideFreak

    RideFreak Torque Junky

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Oddometer:
    13,825
    Location:
    Out in the NM Dez somewhere
    It's also how you store phone number's in the unit.
    #7
  8. brianbrannon

    brianbrannon They'll ride up with wear

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,551
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    If any of my senas had actually worked right before having to do at least two updates I would agree with you. Using the Sena cable I updated my old one fine but the new ones won't connect right
    #8