Brian's First Ride Report: Mexico 2019

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by LogHouseBikers, Jan 6, 2019.

1. LogHouseBikers

LogHouseBikers Been here awhile Supporter

Oddometer:
    I am new to the "ride report" mind-set, AND this is my first real attempt at documenting my motorcycle travels. Please be patient with me as I muddle my way through. :hmmmmm

I am heading out tomorrow on an @ 2 month(?) motorcycle trip in Mexico. I am riding a new 2018 Royal Enfield Himalayan. I have utilized info found on the Himalayan thread here at ADVRider to equip and set-up the bike. I hope I did OK. If not... Oh well. It will have to do for this trip. Pictures tomorrow!

I have a general focus on this trip: to rule in/out locations/areas where my best friend (and wife of 30+ years) and I are going to considering retiring to. She would love to be accompanying me, but alas, she still has to work. (I recently re-retired.) Our criteria for a locale includes being near the sea/ocean since we SCUBA also. That dictates my trip to generally hug the coastline. My route plan is "vague/roughed" with no absolute dates or specific stops, save a few where we have "time-share" properties where I can stop and take a break/rest and regroup as needed.

My starting point is Yuma, Arizona. I will cross the border at San Luis, AZ and head down the east coast of Baja, to Cabo (with stops along the way). After that it's La Paz for the ferry to Mazatlan. From there I intend to to travel down the Pacific coast, eventually reaching Cancun and that area.

The return trip has yet to be considered, with the ideas of revisiting any place I might think needs more evaluation and exploring, ultimately traveling north up the coastline from Mazatlan back to Yuma.

I hope not to bore you from here on out, should you choose to follow my travel. Again, this is my first try for documenting my adventures, so consider me a novice writer.

Here I go......!