Cardo Packtalk Bold with JBL speakers

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Drif10, Jan 17, 2019.

  1. Drif10

    Drif10 Accredited Jackass

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    50,633
    Location:
    Gates of Moscow
    Cardo announced this in the fall, said that the new speakers would work with all the Bold units, including the current ones. Being released in early 2019.

    I just saw that they're now selling the Bold with JBL speakers. Sweet.

    But...

    They didn't make them compatible to my unit I bought in the fall, like they said they would. At least, that's what it says on their site "for 2019 models only".

    Shit.

    Anyone have any different intel?
    #1
  2. dpike

    dpike BeeKeeper Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,419
    Location:
    New Jersey
    where do you see the speakers aren't backwards compatible ?
    #2
  3. Drif10

    Drif10 Accredited Jackass

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    50,633
    Location:
    Gates of Moscow
    What I quoted was from their website.
    #3
  4. Drif10

    Drif10 Accredited Jackass

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    50,633
    Location:
    Gates of Moscow
    "
    Sound by JBL
    For 2019 models only. Founded more than 70 years ago JBL has been a magnet for audiophiles of every generation. From concert halls to cinemas, to home entertainment and..."

    From the Bold page on the Cardo site.
    #4
  5. biker128pedal

    biker128pedal Super Lurker

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    6,028
    Location:
    Eastern, VA
    Yea, I heard on a podcast I heard the speakers and the new firmware would be compatible with the plane Packtalk. Just not as many features.
    #5
  6. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    Only 2019 models will ship with them, but they responded on Facebook today that the upgrade kits will be out within a few months.
    #6
  7. Drif10

    Drif10 Accredited Jackass

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    50,633
    Location:
    Gates of Moscow
    @moosehog that's encouraging information!

    Thanks for finding that, their site didn't even allude to it.

    Hopefully, they follow through. :D
    #7
  8. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    Received a jbl model today. Meh.
    #8
  9. Drif10

    Drif10 Accredited Jackass

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    50,633
    Location:
    Gates of Moscow
    @moosehog were you replacing a previous version?
    #9
  10. Reidy008

    Reidy008 I,m in if we go fast

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,943
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    How did you get it.. I talk to a rep that said they aren't out until Feb 22nd
    #10
  11. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    No, had been waiting to upgrade from a Sena Smh10. Was hoping for higher volume (since i ride with foam ear plugs) and better audio quality. I'm going to keep it, since I was due for a new unit anyway, but the volume isn't any louder and any quality gains are nominal.
    #11
  12. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    I had just been monitoring the Cardo website and they finally showed up as in stock. Price was full MSRP, so I first contacted Revzilla to see if they had the 2019 models yet, which they did not, so I just ordered direct from the Cardo site. It showed up about 8-9 days later. The box clearly has the JBL stamp on the front. I ordered a duo set BTW.
    #12
  13. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    IMG_3144.jpg
    #13
  14. SRTie4k

    SRTie4k Northeast Explorer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,962
    Location:
    Nude Hampster
    If the speakers have a 3.5mm connector, they'll be "compatible" with any Cardo unit. The only difference between units is that its possible the newest ones have a different amp internal to the Cardo unit itself.
    #14
  15. dr. jones

    dr. jones Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Oddometer:
    472
    Location:
    The Ham, MA
    last week i ordered (from revzilla) the new Freecom 4+. they too have the jbl speakers but aren't expected to ship until march(?).
    #15
  16. MelissaToBeMe

    MelissaToBeMe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Oddometer:
    245
    Maaaaaybe a stupid question but bear with me...lol

    Did you try it out on the bike or just in the house? Only curious because the Cardo's have self-adjusting volume, meaning the louder your environment gets the louder IT gets. So, if you're in a quiet place and turn the volume all the way up it's actually only like HALF of it's "real" max volume. Could this be the case? I don't have the JBL version (yet :evil) but my Packtalk Bold is almost toooo much volume at true max.

    I believe if you go into the Cardo Connect app, turn off the Automatic Volume Adjustment, power-cycle the headset, then try again it will give you it's real max volume without needing a loud environment...might be worth a shot. Personally I do like the auto-volume, works well for me on the default Medium setting.

    Also- I'm reading that the JBL version you have has 3 different sound profiles available in the app??? Is this the case? And do you notice any difference? Thanks for any feedback on that, and hope the above info helps out a bit!
    #16
  17. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    They do in fact have the 3.5mm plug.
    #17
  18. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    Maybe Cardo is trying to sell a bunch directly through their site at full MSRP before supplying their retailers?
    #18
  19. moosehog

    moosehog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    101
    I've tried it in house and in actual riding conditions. I did turn off the volume adjustment, which made a little difference, but it is still too low.
    I haven't tried out the different sound profiles in the app, but will give it a try. Thanks.

    I'm beginning to wonder if switching from speakers to earbuds is gong to be the answer.
    #19
  20. Garrett804

    Garrett804 Subie Beemer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Oddometer:
    67
    Location:
    Houston
    Earbuds all day. MEE audio m6 pro or m7 pro
    #20