Cardo Packtalk Bold

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by ubermick, May 8, 2018.

  1. swimmer

    swimmer armchair asshole

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    16,115
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Is there any difference in the noise canceling (open mic) capability between the 4+ and the Bold?
  2. Borrec

    Borrec Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,543
    Location:
    Ft Rucker, AL
    Cardo site says to run wire over head for better radio reception. FM antenna is probably part of speaker wires.
  3. dstutz

    dstutz Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,125
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD
    It always is for things like your cell phone (if it has built-in radio) or any portable device that doesn't have an external antenna.
  4. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    47,690
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    I keep hearing about the ports crapping out and I would like to suggest something which may help the longevity of these delicate things. The stock cable that came with it fits on the port pretty snug. Not all cables are created equal and I've been using a cheap one that I have permanently attached at my PC that slips into the plug with very little resistance. I'm only guessing that this cheap cable will have an impact on the longevity of this plug.

    Just a thought.
  5. bicyclenut

    bicyclenut Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Oddometer:
    183
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs, IL
    Screen Shot 2019-11-14 at 12.52.51 PM.png If you are using a cable while riding to charge or extend battery life, might want to consider a right angle micro-USB cable is this would put less stress on the plug if the cable gets pulled on or has tension. Just like using a longer pry-bar vs a shorter one, the right angle puts less stress on the plug.
    TonyKZ1 likes this.
  6. DinEW

    DinEW Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    Oddometer:
    30
    Location:
    Addy, WA
    That looks like the cable that comes with the Sena 30k!
  7. bicyclenut

    bicyclenut Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Oddometer:
    183
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs, IL
    Available on Amazon, just search for right angle micro USB cable
    TonyKZ1 likes this.
  8. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    47,690
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    I think those right angle cables are good if you're going to support the cable on something. For example, I have one on my phone/gps and I have the cable twistie-tied to the cradle right after it comes out of the port. If not, and it's just going to dangle there, I don't see how it would be any different from the straight cable.
    bicyclenut likes this.
  9. Fastman

    Fastman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Oddometer:
    663
    Location:
    Webster Groves, MO
    On the topic of cables and the Packtalk Bold, I thought I'd toss out a word of caution when using earbuds. I have a Schuberth C3 Pro and routed/stuffed the jack for in-helmet speakers or earbuds between the base of the neck roll and the helmet when using the in-helmet (JBL) speakers. However, when using earbuds, I let the jack dangle from the hemet out in the wind. Apparently it must have gotten blown around quite a bit because on a recent road trip, the cable failed.
    IMG_4611.JPG

    I started getting very "wonky" audio from the Packtalk Bold ... reduced volume, difficult to hear GPS prompts and with music, loss of vocals or some instruments. Cardo Systems replaced the audio plate under warranty and I'm back in business. I've reinforced the section that previously failed with heat-shrink tubing and positioned the jack where it won't flail around if exposed to buffeting wind.
    IMG_1736.JPG

    I should be good to go for a long time. Now if I could only get radar detector audio along with everything else (GPS, music & phone) into the Packtalk Bold. While on the phone with Cardo Systems tech support, the rep didn't seem to think it was even possible.

    Bluetooth Jungle.jpg
  10. bmwroadsterca

    bmwroadsterca RadioFlyer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Oddometer:
    900
    Location:
    Lanark County near Ottawa ON
    You can also do this with zip ties:
    20180412_200740.jpg

    Or if you have access to a 3D printer do this:
    646dd3c3a5054c3c312e247c91869ad0_preview_featured.jpg
    scottydawg and bicyclenut like this.
  11. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    47,690
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Yep. Those two examples are precisely my point. If the cable is flapping around in the wind it's going to eventually fail regardless of whether it's a 90 degree or a straight cable.

    Keep it tight, and it'll be alright. :thumb
  12. dietDrThunder

    dietDrThunder Why so serious, son? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,614
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    It is possible. I would recommend simplifying your setup when you talk to support. From the Cardo perspective after all, all you're doing is pairing the GPS on one BT channel, and you want to pair a BT transmitter to the other channel for radar.

    I have this vvery setup myself, except that I was trying to use the BT connection to my Escort detector to a second phone running the Escort Live! app, and pairing that to channel 2. They told me that I should be able to enable 'parallel audio streaming' to make this work. It didn't work initially, but I haven't messed around yet.
  13. Fastman

    Fastman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Oddometer:
    663
    Location:
    Webster Groves, MO
    My conversation with the tech support rep was pretty simple. I didn't address anything more than hearing Nav VI GPS audio on one channel (mobile phone 1) and radar detector audio via a Bluetooth dongle on the other channel (mobile phone 2). He didn't think it would work, and I tend to agree based on my experiments. I've tried 3 different Bluetooth dongles, tried pairing them as mobile phone and as GPS, and with parallel audio streaming enabled and disabled. There is a thread on a radar detector forum (RDForum.org) addressing radar detector audio into motorcycle helmets and nobody there has broken the code with a Packtalk Bold.
  14. canyncarvr

    canyncarvr Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Oddometer:
    116
    Looking for similarity between my situation and others. My G9x quit after a ride in the rain. Time to 'upgrade' to a PackTalk. Bold, even.

    I've had nothing but problems with it (them..I've had two of them to date). The user manual differing from the pocket guide was the start of the problems. I upgraded to V5.2 firmware, the problems were not resolved. I got a different set of problems depending on whether intercom or A2DP is set to 'priority' for example. Clicking the wheel does not mute the music (as the pocket guide says), neither does it reduce the music to minimum (as the .pdf says) is one example.

    The unit was replaced.

    The replacement unit had the same problems. Cardo support asked me to upgrade to V5.3 using their new updater platform. I did that, only to find that the cardo community website no longer worked with the unit. Cardo support told me the community website was 'going away'. While that may explain why V5.3 doesn't work with the community website, it is not at all helpful if V5.3 has been loaded...and a phone is not part of the equation! I told cardo support repeatedly that a phone was NOT in the mix in my case. Nevertheless, I now have a comm unit that I cannot access for feature adjustment/changes.

    The G9x had the ability of accessing settings (vox, agm, etc) using buttons and voice on the unit itself. The PackTalk Bold does not have that option.

    Cardo support told me there is no avenue of obtaining an older firmware version. Curiously, that option USED to be available on the community website; it is available no longer. Ha! Not that it would matter to me seeing as I no longer have access to the comm unit via the website.

    The new updater does still 'see' the unit. It verifies that the unit has been updated to V5.3, but that is all the new site does...update the firmware. There is no FM station selection, no feature adjustments (vox/agm sensitivity for example).

    At the least, a warning to other PackTalk Bold comm users: DO NOT update your firmware from V5.2 to V5.3 unless you are sure you know why you are doing it. If you happen to NOT have a phone that you use to access the comm unit, certainly do not update to V5.3.

    I just spent an hour trying to pair a bluetooth device (MP3 player) to the comm unit. In DMC mode, in BT mode...pair unit one, pair unit two...reset the pairs, reset the device, blah blah blah. For no particular reason, sequences to accomplish the pairing 'all of a sudden' worked. What a PITA.

    I am curious if this has ever happened: Has any PackTalk Bold user updated to V5.3 and retained access to the cardo community and thus, access to the comm device? I am aware that the 'cardo updater' plug-in is different between the two update platforms. When trying one or the other, I have uninstalled and reloaded the correct plug-in for the intended function.

    I have been in contact with Cardo support for the unit multiple times. In every case of them saying, '..will refer to the team...' for answers, I have not heard from them again (for that same case #).

    Seems a sad state of affairs for a company of the size and prevalence of Scala/Cardo.
  15. dietDrThunder

    dietDrThunder Why so serious, son? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,614
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Did you try loading the software on a phone and connecting it for purposes of config'ing the device?
  16. canyncarvr

    canyncarvr Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Oddometer:
    116
    As said, I do not have such a phone. 'Such' meaning a smart phone that could do such a thing.

    Specifically, in direct response to your question, I have not tried connecting it to 'a' phone, either. I do know someone that has his PackTalk running through his iPhone. When I get around to making the 80 mile trip to his place to check that out , I will.
  17. dietDrThunder

    dietDrThunder Why so serious, son? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,614
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Sorry, I saw where you said that a phone wasn't part of the equation. I didn't realize that meant that you didn't actually have one. Surely you know someone who does...takes 2 min to try.
  18. Fastman

    Fastman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Oddometer:
    663
    Location:
    Webster Groves, MO
    Readers Digest version ... my Packtalk Bold started acting wonky (bizarre audio behavior). Contacted Cardo Systems, and per their recommendation, I updated the firmware to version 5.3 using the Cardo Update app (macOS). Unfortunately, that didn't fix the wonky audio and Cardo Systems swapped out my unit for a new one (under the 2-year warranty). Unfortunately, the new unit didn't fix the problem either. It turned out the lead for the speakers/earbuds had frayed and they sent me a new audio plate under warranty.

    What I learned in the process ... upgrading my original Packtalk Bold to 5.3 meant I lost access to some of the settings (i.e. parallel audio) because the iPhone app doesn't provide access to all settings. I connected my original Packtalk Bold to the Cardo Community website and after reloading the plug-in, was able to access and change all settings. Interestingly, the website said the firmware was current at 5.3. Fast forward to receiving my replacement Packtalk Bold and also upgrading my Macbook Pro to macOS Catalina. I discovered the web plug-in is 32-bit, so it won't run under Catalina. I was able to connect the replacement Packtalk Bold to an older Macbook Pro that hasn't yet been upgraded to macOS Catalina and discovered it was shipped with 5.1. I upgraded it to 5.2 using the older Macbook Pro, but will stop there for now and wait to upgrade to 5.3. I can't find any release notes explaining what was changed from 5.2 to 5.3, so I don't know what I'm wandering into.
  19. canyncarvr

    canyncarvr Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Oddometer:
    116
    How did you connect your original PackTalk, Cardo having swapped out your old unit? You did not have to return the original unit? They did not 'release' my replacement until I proved to them (sent copy of shipping paperwork) I had sent the first one back.

    Their plug-in is 32 bit, you say. I wonder how that fits with a 64bit Windoze OS. Maybe that is part of the problem. No reason a 32-bit app shouldn't run on a 64-bit machine. No GOOD reason.

    I tried Chrome, too. Cardo support had indicated that as a possible 'solution'. It didn't work. The older cardo community site still did not connect to the comm unit.

    Sounds like the new 'updater' and the 5.3 it pushes did NOT keep you from accessing the unit using cardo community. That makes the matter even more curious, as I haven't made that happen.

    Honestly, the G9x I had was susceptible to gremlins, too. Sometimes 'this' worked, sometimes 'that' worked (button presses, function access), sometimes neither 'this' nor 'that' worked. I did hope that its new replacement would be an improvement.

    It's not. An hour to pair a BT device is ridiculous.
  20. Fastman

    Fastman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Oddometer:
    663
    Location:
    Webster Groves, MO
    To answer how I was able to connect the old Packtalk Bold to Cardo Community, here's a rough timeline:
    • My Packtalk Bold audio goes wonky on a road trip
    • Cardo Systems tech support recommends upgrading to 5.3 using the Cardo Update app
    • Upgraded to 5.3, but still had audio issues
    • Connected to Cardo Community, re-installed the plug-in and confirmed I was up to date at 5.3 and made sure settings were all correct
    • Contacted Cardo Systems tech support and arranged to shipped unit back
    • Received replacement unit, but audio was still "wonky"
    • Discovered frayed cable and contacted Cardo Systems Tech Support (did not use replacement unit until I could get a new audio plate)
    • Upgraded Macbook Pro to macOS Catalina
    • Received new audio plate
    • Tried to use Cardo Community, but discovered 32-bit issue
    • Upgraded from 5.1 to 5.2 using old Macbook Pro
    The 32-bit issue is an Apple thing associated with macOS. They decided to no longer support 32-bit applications with the release of macOS Catalina earlier this fall. When I tried to install the web plug-in, it wouldn't run. Cardo Community also does not work with Safari (Mac's equivalent to Exploder), so I had to try with Chrome and Firefox.

    I have no clue what the difference is between 5.2 and 5.3. I wish they'd publish something.