Cardo Packtalk Bold

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by ubermick, May 8, 2018.

  1. shutterguy

    shutterguy n00b

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    Ohio
    My experience is that you can do most everything through the app. I noticed when I got my PTB, there was a online version of setting (Cardo Community I think), now it seems they are only doing the updater and everything is else is buttons on the unit or using the app. Someone please correct me if I am wrong.
  2. River-Runner

    River-Runner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    666
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Thanks Guys -

    I ordered a set of the Cardo Packtalk Bold this evening for my wife and I. Appreciated the time people have taken to populate this forum.

    Before I open the package - I've got a MY 17 BMW GSA, Garmin Navigator VI and an Android phone - Google Pixel. Anyone have experience with the NAV 6 and Cardo? Do they play well together?

    You folks sure seem to have a better experience than those over in the Sena forum. Sounds like the only thing the Sena 50's have on the Cardo is using a USB-C versus mini-USB - more reliable connector.
  3. scottydawg

    scottydawg Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    360
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Just my .02 cents but for me it is so easy with voice control on the PTB that I don't find adding the Nav VI into the mix is worth the possible issues.
    Ron from BC likes this.
  4. CRracer712

    CRracer712 Africa Twin Rocks! Supporter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Oddometer:
    121
    Location:
    Kansas
    Don't have a nav vi, but I have no issues with my PTB, zumo 396 and moto g6.

    Voice commands to make calls, and listen to music, navigation directions from the Zumo.

    I just wish the zumo had voice commands like my drivesmart 61 and driveassist 51, that'd be awesome.
  5. zetabird

    zetabird Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Oddometer:
    475
    Has anyome else had a problem with ome command not working. Out of nowhere music off stoped working. Every ither voice comand works just fine
  6. River-Runner

    River-Runner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    666
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    ScottyDawg - I agree with you 100%.
    The only reason I'd link the phone to the Nav VI is so I still have a channel to connect my radar detector. I agree, connecting the phone to the NAV VI does introduce a whole set of other issues........In the final analysis, and at least to start, I'll link only the NAV on one channel and the phone on the other.

    Gotta imagine cities/states are going to want to maximize revenue off of traffic violations in the covid-reduced taxes world.....
    scottydawg likes this.
  7. boulet_boulet

    boulet_boulet Long timer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    1,245
    Location:
    Maine
    I have a volume issue. When I am riding alone, my Packtalk has plenty of available volume for music. As in, I don't need the volume on 11 to actually hear my tunes. However, when I am using the intercom with a group, the media volume, not the intercom, is suppressed. It's like the music never leaves 'background' mode. My riding buddy's mic is not stuck on either. I have tried all of the variables I can think of in the app with no success. It's as if I have to choose between tunes with ample volume or intercom, but never both at the same time.

    I am on the latest firmware. Does anyone else have this same problem? Is there a fix?

    Thanks.
  8. WQFTruckster

    WQFTruckster Adventure Engineer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    210
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    There were several people on the cardo Facebook group describing this same issue with the latest firmware update so you are not alone. I haven’t tried music with a DMC group since I did the update so I can neither confirm nor deny.
    boulet_boulet likes this.
  9. miken0vf

    miken0vf Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Oddometer:
    316
    Location:
    Broomfield, CO
    check "background music" level. This limits music to % of intercom. So if your intercom is set to level 2, and your percentage is 30%, thats one third of the intercom's level 2 volume at most. (I leave mine at 100% see pic)
    You can still raise/lower music with the volume buttons etc. The % just sets the ceiling according to the intercom.

    Also, If you're using your phone for music, have your volume maxed on the phone and use the cardo's controls to set listening level.

    Attached Files:

    Grinnin and boulet_boulet like this.
  10. onlybetx

    onlybetx Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Oddometer:
    373
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Anyone loose this little rubber piece and cause their cradle to not seat the unit tightly? Adjustments.jpg
  11. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,949
    Location:
    Maine
    Thanks for this explanation.

    Is this a bug? I ask because it's not the first PTB control that seems weird.

    It doesn't seem to be controlling background music volume so much as simple music volume. But music volume already has it's own control.

    Shouldn't the "background music" slider control the volume for music in the background when someone is speaking?

    Yesterday, I was listening to FM on the way to the start of a ride. I got within a couple blocks of the start and the volume turned way down. No-one was speaking, no mics open, helmets not even on, but a PTB was on and my PTB detected it and turned down the music.
  12. webnetxpress

    webnetxpress Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Oddometer:
    340
    Location:
    Dakar, Senegal
    Mine does this too. Seems to be when it detects another PTB unit in my group, it goes lower volume (music) for about 20 or 30 seconds until it has stabilized and then returns to full audio volume until someone speaks again. Must be a 'quiet when first connected' type action. Doesnt bother me at all, it kind of alerts me that I'm in range to one of my buddies.
    Grinnin likes this.
  13. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,949
    Location:
    Maine
    I think I listened for more than a minute before turning the radio off, and the volume didn't recover. I was the only one with a helmet on at that point.

    I'll have to experiment more.
  14. scottydawg

    scottydawg Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    360
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I should clarify that one thing I do often connect with the NAVI is my phone for the Garmin SmartLink so I get traffic information on the map.
    I have stopped connecting my phone to the BMW TFT because I see no real benefit in it and just more stuff to get frustrated about from problems.
  15. miken0vf

    miken0vf Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Oddometer:
    316
    Location:
    Broomfield, CO
    I don't think its a glitch but rather Cardo trying to give us as much as they can. Sometimes more options is not better.
    Agreed, the cardo language is cumbersome.

    There's also the "automatic volume" setting. It will adjust up or down according to ambient noise. I leave mine off. When on, a wind gust across the mic will raise volume and stopping at a light and quiet will lower it.
  16. HAL 9000

    HAL 9000 2014 Yamaha FJR1300

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Oddometer:
    518
    Location:
    NC
    Regarding the "music is dimmed to the background even though noone is talking", I had that happen to me once. It was a few years ago (and thus, a few firmware versions ago). Of course, it was on the day of a 12+ hour ride. At first, I thought maybe the source of the music (my phone) had a problem. I adjusted volume levels in the Cardo app, and got it back to somewhat acceptable, but still not great. And then at the end of the day, when the last person just got out of range, suddenly the music blasts through my ears at full volume. I then realized it happened because I was connected to others in DMC.

    HOWEVER, it never did it again. Even riding with the same group another time. I don't know what caused it (if it was a problem with mine or with someone's else's PT). I don't know if a simple reboot (of mine or someone else's) is what would have fixed it. I just don't know...

    I know that doesn't really help. But, I doubt it may not necessarily have anything to do with the latest firmware. I think the bug has always been there. It's just a matter of figuring out what causes it to appear.
  17. Motodoc

    Motodoc Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Oddometer:
    99
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I agree. I use Siri through PTB for everything I need. Then I control the Garmin through the wheel on my GSA.

    I love the Cardo. Battery life is exceptional and the thing has been 100% waterproof as nearly half of my rides are blessed with rain. The speakers have also kept trucking despite many hours of full volume (ear plugs).
    scottydawg likes this.
  18. happy intruder

    happy intruder Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Oddometer:
    10
    Location:
    Irvine
    I have a Nav V, Cardo Packtalk Bold and iPhone 6 Plus......is it possible to pair my phone to the nav v....then pair the nav v to the Packtalk Bold and listen to music that is on the card in the nav v?

    can I make calls thur the nav v using the thumb wheel to search numbers

    or am I limited to pairing the phone to the Cardo and then the nav v to the Cardo

    thanks for any help
  19. Fastman

    Fastman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Oddometer:
    703
    Location:
    Webster Groves, MO
    Absolutely. That’s how I’ve been using my Nav VI, iPhone 11 and Packtalk Bold. On your Nav V, be sure to select MP3 in the media plater app.
    V-Tom likes this.
  20. happy intruder

    happy intruder Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Oddometer:
    10
    Location:
    Irvine
    thank you...Where can I find the player app in the nav v