Colorado BDR (Fargo, ND to Mesa, AZ) - 7 Part Series

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by everson65, Apr 14, 2020.

1. everson65

everson65 Intrepidnation

Oddometer:
    Inmates please be forewarned...this is my first attempt at posting a Ride Report detailing one of my trips. I have taken a couple of long distance rides, including one from Colorado to Argentina, but in the past I have never posted them for public viewing pleasure. That being said...have mercy on me:)

First a bit of context.

The first two days of riding were just to get to the start of the Colorado BDR (going from North to South) so if all you care to read is about the BDR then it is best to just skip to Day Three of this Ride Report. For those looking for the Clif Notes version I crossed the Colorado BDR in 5 days, but really only 4 of it was off road with the 5th day being on the black top of Section 1 on the Butler Map. If you are a good rider and wanted to push it I think the entire Colorado route could be handled in 3.5-4 days, but it is best to take in the sights and pleasures that the trail has to offer!

I rode this trip solo on my 2017 KTM Adventure 1090 from Fargo, ND to Durango, CO. From there I picked up my wife at the airport and we continued 2-up to Mesa, AZ where I left the motorcycle at my parent's house for the winter. I plan to head back in May 2020 to ride the return trip to Fargo, most likely by utilizing the AZ and UT Backcountry Discovery Routes.

Day 1 Fargo, ND-Nemo, SD 502 miles