complete noob with GPS so many questions

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by dirt hokie, May 26, 2020.

1. dirt hokie

dirt hokie Long timer

Oddometer:
    back ground
    just got a Garmin GPSMAP78s
    going to do the western portion of the TAT
    first time using a modern GPS ( i like paper and will take paper with me )
    1. what maps should i get, it just came with basic no detail map
    I need to see all the regular street stuff, and also dirt roads and trails ( lower 48 )
    how do i know beforehand.... Does it have to come from GARMIN?
    2. what is the difference between a track and a route
    3. If I download the TAT routes from the TAT website, is it automatically compatible with what ever maps I installed on my GPS?
    4. Do i have to have a mapping program on my PC to receive and install tracks, routes, maps onto my GPS.
    5. If i install a better map on my gps, does it automatically use that one

As you can see, I don't know crap.....hows this shit work
  2. Grinnin

Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

Oddometer:
    1. IDK GPSMAP78s, but I was going to do large sections of the TAT with a Garmin Montana with City Navigator plus Open Street Maps. CNNA is $72 with Canada, There used to be a cheaper one with just 48 states. https://www.gpscity.com/garmin-city-navigator-north-america-card . (EDIT: that's the price for an SD card version. May be cheaper as download. Download has other advantages.) Open Street Maps is free and works with Garmin if you get them here: http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/

You can get topo maps such as Garmin 24k topo or Garmin 100k topo. The 24k supports routing if you ask the GPS to find gas for you, the 100k does not support routing. You could use 100ktopo plus OSM to get that routing.

There are also free topo maps other places, but you'll need a Garmin program on your computer to install them on your GPS.