Considering Converting a Honda CR125R to Enduro / Dual Sport

Discussion in '2 smokers' started by Glenn247, Oct 30, 2020.

1. Glenn247

Glenn247 Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Need some advice, Gentlemen...

I'm considering picking up a 2000 Honda CR125R in good shape for about $2k, and then investing about another $1k on a IMS 3.7 gallon tank, heavier flywheel weight, side stand, headlight & taillight w/ small lithium battery, and a few other things to make it capable of cruising the back roads and dirt roads to connect trails...

Not concerned w/ plating it as that will happen through Vermont or South Dakota if necessary, or some other method...

I'd really like to hear thoughts from this group because I'm a 2-stroke novice...

I'm looking for a lightweight, 2-stroke, reliable enduro / dual sport, and I'm a Honda loyalist and would rather not throw down heavy coin for a Euro offering...

Should I do it, and if so, any tips on how it should be done?

Here's the bike I'm considering btw:

2000 Honda CR125R.jpg
  2. dave0

dave0 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Add rad guards, skidplate, and a suspension re-valve and you're good to go.

If you're really feelin' it, an 18" rear too.
    bark sampler likes this.
  3. dave0

dave0 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    One more thing:

Has some good points.

I have a 2000 CR250 I'm thinking of doing this too, already have the tank and flywheel weight.
    Glenn247 likes this.
  4. Glenn247

Oddometer:
    @dave0 Which tank did you go with? IMS or Clarke?

I can't watch that video at the moment but will as soon as I can...in the meantime, can you give me a quick summary or a few of the points?
  5. dave0

dave0 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Not sure of the tank, but it's the clear one where you can see the gas inside. It's 3 gallon.

Basic summary is by the time you get the bike set up, for the cost you can get a turn key enduro/dual sport.

But where's the fun in that?
    Glenn247 likes this.
  6. Glenn247