Cordless Tool Decisions...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Celtic Curmudgeon, Oct 21, 2019.

1. Celtic Curmudgeon

Celtic Curmudgeon Indiana Jones wanabe

Oddometer:
    Interested in your experiences with cordless tools...here is my situation. I currently have a Porter Cable drill and 1/4 driver that have worked VERY well for the past 5-6 years. I need a couple more tools, namely a cordless impact wrench (mainly for motorcycle stuff and rotating tires on the truck, etc), cordlless jig saw, and possibly a hammer drill.

Here's the rub - Porter Cable is now owned by the Stanley Black & Decker Craftsman kabal, and the PC tools are disappearing from retail stores. SBD is pushing their newly acquired Craftsman line, and rumor has it Porter Cable cordless will be discontinued. Note the new Craftsman V20 line looks like a clone of the Porter Cable, although they're not cross-compatible.

Now, as far as my needs - I'm tinkerer, DIYer, and Landlord. I'm NOT a pro. Thus Makita, Bosch, even DeWalt is probably overkill, and I"m looking for a good 'value' (but not cheapo) brand.

Do I 1. round out my Porter Cable gear accepting the risk that batteries might become hard to come by in a few years, 2. go with the new Craftsman since SBD spent a Billion $ on it and it's not going away, 3. Bite the bullet and go with Ridgid (quite at bit more than I want to spend, but excellent quality) or 4. Go with Ryobi , since their very affordable and have a huge assortment of tools, and have used the same battery system since 1997.

I don't need a huge assortment, the hammer drill and jig saw will see occasional use, the impact fairly often and the drill/drive combo I use a lot around the house.

Thoughts?
  2. SmittyBlackstone

SmittyBlackstone Been here awhile

Oddometer:
  3. HarveyM

HarveyM Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    anonny and Celtic Curmudgeon like this.
  4. DHC-2

DHC-2 Been here awhile

Oddometer: