"Correct" fork height?

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by OlyRider, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. OlyRider

    OlyRider Long timer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,448
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    I just read in another thread that stock height for the 800GS forks is 7mm of fork above the triple clamp. Is this true!? Mine came from the dealer flush at the top. I've always had a bit of front-end wobble, but it didn't occur to me this might be the cause.

    Curious
    #1
  2. Matt W

    Matt W Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    343
    Location:
    Clarkston Mi
    Hope this helps so you can see where I got the info. from the other thread.

    (+) Installing left fork leg
    (-) Installing left fork leg


    Slightly spread the clamps in the bottom fork bridge.


    Introduce the fork leg into both fork bridges and adjust fork-tube projection (A).


    Technical data
    Projection of fork tube in fork bridge, top

    with cap
    7.8 mm


    [​IMG]
    #2
  3. OlyRider

    OlyRider Long timer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,448
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    Thanks, Matt!!!!!
    #3
  4. sieg

    sieg Wearing out tires......2 at a time, day after day. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,990
    Location:
    Southern Illinois USA
    Wow, I learn so much here. My forks where flush and loose, I guess they don't have thier best tech doing set-up.
    #4
  5. Bushwhacker

    Bushwhacker Dirt, Sweat & Gears

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Oddometer:
    442
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Here is a photo someone (I do not remember who so I can not give proper credit) on this forum.

    It shows the scribe line on the forks that mark the proper setting.

    When I bought my bike the forks were set st the very top. I downloaded and printed this photo and took it to my dealer and asked them to check the Service Manual.

    Sure enough they came back and told me that this is exactly what the service manual said.

    They also said every 800 that came in was set exactly as mine was when I picked it up and there was nothing in the set up instructions about properly setting the fork height.

    [​IMG]
    #5
  6. GoFar

    GoFar My butt hurts.

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,003
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    What is loose? They need very little torque. These are some of the easiest holes to strip. DO NOT be tempted to overtorque them...
    #6
  7. ride2little

    ride2little Riding Like the Wind

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,521
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Hm. I've seen talk about this before but since my bike rides well I haven't really given it much thought.
    Mine are flush to the top. Guess I'll go into the garage and straighten things out tonight.
    Now I'm off to find the torque values.

    Thanks to all.
    #7
  8. OlyRider

    OlyRider Long timer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,448
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    19 NM

    top & bottom clamps
    #8
  9. ride2little

    ride2little Riding Like the Wind

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,521
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Yessir! Exactly as the repair manual states.
    Thank you.
    Into the garage... And it's hot, so maybe a beer as well...:1drink
    #9
  10. ride2little

    ride2little Riding Like the Wind

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,521
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Sonofagun that was easy!
    Didn't even get a chance to crack a beer.

    Loosened everything up, slid the tube up from where it was level with the cap to the scribed line. Slid up EASY, going back down was another matter. Used the handle of a dead-blow hammer and tapped the top of it with my palm. Slid slowly enough to get it spot-on. Tightened things back up to spec. Then did the other side. No need to remove the tire/wheel or anything. Very simple stuff. Even a caveman can do it. (Advertising REALLY works.)

    Only word of caution.
    The manual states to tighten the fork clamps alternately. You'll see what I mean. Alternate because in dong so clamps them down even. One is tight, the other is loose, etc. Until they both are torqued equally @ 19NM.

    No beer yet. Out for a test ride...THEN a cold one or two.

    Thanks again for this thread.
    #10
  11. sieg

    sieg Wearing out tires......2 at a time, day after day. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,990
    Location:
    Southern Illinois USA
    Didn't check torque when I loosened them, did while tighting them. But 1 pinch bolt on each clamp was tight the other was hardly finger tight.
    #11
  12. ride2little

    ride2little Riding Like the Wind

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,521
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Took a 50 mile ride with the tubes in their rightful spot.
    Seemed stable and solid. Turn in was good, etc. But then again, it wasn't bad before.
    Believe it or not, I can feel the difference.

    I'd say, if yer tubes are up, move'em down. It's surely simple enough.
    #12
  13. whisperquiet

    whisperquiet Motorcyclist Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,622
    Location:
    Waterloo, Illinois 62298
    Make sure you have them at 7.8mm before we ride next time....I don't want you getting all out of shape with forks set up incorrectly.
    #13
  14. sieg

    sieg Wearing out tires......2 at a time, day after day. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,990
    Location:
    Southern Illinois USA
    They are set up sooo...corect now, I was out today and from here to Midway I am 2 minutes and 21 seconds faster now. You won't believe the difference.
    #14
  15. sieg

    sieg Wearing out tires......2 at a time, day after day. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,990
    Location:
    Southern Illinois USA
    That's not what you mean!
    #15
  16. ride2little

    ride2little Riding Like the Wind

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,521
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Doh!
    "If yer trees are up, move'em down!"
    #16
  17. bxr140

    bxr140 Flame Bait

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,041
    Location:
    On high
    7.8pm is not the "correct" height, it's just the stock height.

    Mine are at 24mm. The bike actually turns in now...
    #17
  18. ride2little

    ride2little Riding Like the Wind

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,521
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    Damn. Does your tire rub the beak?
    #18
  19. bxr140

    bxr140 Flame Bait

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,041
    Location:
    On high
    Yes. Around every corner.:1drink
    #19
  20. CheckerdD

    CheckerdD Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,496
    Location:
    Dave Rankine, Reno NV
    I was in the dealer last week asking about this. Someone at the White Mtn rally said my forks were not set up right. The service manager looked up the diagram on their computer. It showed the distance in the illustration A as 3.9 mm . I have the impression the height got changed late in the design/ production stage. My bike has a line scratched into the fork that you can see through a crack in the triple clamp. That line is about 7.8 mm down from the top of the fork. But according to the dealer that line does NOT indicate where the top of the clamp should be. Also for your info the top of the forks are tightened in the factory not installed by the dealer. So it not likely a dealer could screw this up. At any rate that was what my investigation of this disclosed. Dave

    with cap
    7.8 mm


    [​IMG][/quote]
    #20