Covert's First GSA Adventure

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Covert, Nov 13, 2019.

1. Covert

Covert Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    TLDR; Pics below. Rode my 1250 GSA down to Ensenada, Baja, Mexico from Los Angeles. I went on part of the SCORE Baja 1000 trail. Got my butt kicked! But the bike took it like a champ! I definitely need more practice and/or a class. 50/50 tires are in my future. Need a new windscreen, give me your recommendations!

I am new to dual-sport/adventure riding, I've only had my bike for a month now. I just experienced an epic 3-day weekend. I’ve seen videos and read about people going down south to ride off-road and have always said to myself “That looks awesome, I wish I could do that” all while also saying “That’s crazy/dangerous, I will NEVER do that!”. I never thought in a million years I’d ever do this.

I was invited by some very experienced riders to tag along on a trip to Baja to ride part of the Baja 1000 trail. Overall it was a lot more than I expected it to be, being the absolute hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life. I was doing well for the first 45-60 minutes until I had a pack of soft dirt causing my rear wheel to spin out from under me. The fall wasn’t too bad and I was ready to get up and keep moving. Then I fell about five more times which caused quite a bit of frustration. I went through so many different emotions from the initial excitement, to being discouraged, being upset/frustrated, fear, pain, and then finally happy again (once it was over!) Overall I am so glad that I did it. However, if someone asked me to do it again, they would get a big NOPE… at least until I get some more practice in.

I would like to thank everyone who shares info on the board. It has been extremely helpful in my research learning how to prepare for something like this.

Here are some observations from my trip:

Gear