[Crashed] Motorport Kevlar Mesh Pant and Stretch Jacket

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by stupidfacebutternuts, Sep 6, 2018.

1. stupidfacebutternuts

stupidfacebutternuts n00b

Oddometer:
    I have been wearing this set of apparel from Motoport since April of 2012.

Comfort was good in the mesh pants and kevlar jacket. This gear was used in southern California. Regular wear over the years has been little to none, except for a few seams that became unstitched on the gloves and velcro pieces.

Recently, I was struck by a car changing lanes while I was traveling at 15-25 MPH. Here are the results of my impact, roll, and slide. Not pictured is the road rash on my knee, elbows, butt, and hip about the size of a softball.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

I called the company after the crash and the owner seemed surprised that the suit wore through at that speed.

I decided to surrender the gear to insurance rather than have Motoport repair it. I'm not sure if the gear was just too old and damaged by UV, or who knows what. Motoport couldn't offer an explanation. I certainly believe that the gear saved me from a huge amount of bodily injury, and I was even able to go to continue my way into work after towing the bike. I appreciate that the company provided a product to wear comfortably every day. However, I wasn't happy with my road rash at such a low speed and am looking for a good replacement.
  2. DCrider

DCrider Live from THE Hill

Oddometer:
    It's hard to tell by the photos, which wear hole is the one that gave the hip rash? Surprised too that you had so much road rash, I recently went down at higher speed than you and the 10yr old Olympia Bushwacker jacket and Klim Dakar pants I was wearing resulted in less road rash than what you describe.
  3. stupidfacebutternuts

Oddometer:
    https://ibb.co/deU89e is where the butt/hip rash occurred, identified by the connecting zipper/belt.