CRF500L build #3 - The Brit remix

Discussion in 'Some Assembly Required' started by Scutty, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. AntónioPereira

    AntónioPereira Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Oddometer:
    18
    Location:
    Leiria, Portugal
    Electricals... what a pain, i guess!

    Hope you will solve it asap so that you can enjoy your beautiful build - congrats! :)
  2. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    Finally - mystery solved!!

    I got a replacement Regulator after trying every other possible issue and, of course, the new one works perfectly.

    Of all the possible things that could've failed, a MOSFET Regulator is surely the one really reliable component. Oh well, at least that issue is fixed, time to re-wrap the loom and get move on to the next item on the list.
    nickguzzi, outbacktm, Te Hopo and 3 others like this.
  3. Samtech79

    Samtech79 Two wheeled lunatic

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,398
    Location:
    NorCal
    What? No pictures of the carnage? How far down did you have to strip it?
  4. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    IMG_20171009_214038.jpg

    I opened the loom from the regulator all the way back to the starter solenoid to re-soldered 4 joints. The problem is its very hard to tape up the loom with removing it. I have done the best I can in situ, this picture is the current state and the couple of wires you can see over by the fuel pump connector are all that didn;t get taped back up.

    I have noticed that I have a leak at the exhaust manifold - not sure if I am using the wrong gaskets but its a fairly significant leak - another job on the list!

    What size gaskets should I be using as Honda's part number seems to be the same for multiple sizes ?
  5. flipflopdog

    flipflopdog Youth & Talent, no match 4 Old Age & Treachary

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Oddometer:
    561
    Location:
    Gateshead the Grim North of England...!!!
    Scutty, bit off topic here but I notice your throttle cables going over the top of the frame, is that original routing as per CRF or your own choice..?? I ask because I am having an issue with my throttle bodies return action. I have CB500 switch body but a CRF twister, maybe that's where i'm going wrong.....
  6. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    That was the only route I could find to get a smooth throttle action. The Acerbis tank has a big gap at the front there so the cables are under zero pressure, even at full lock both sides.
  7. Samtech79

    Samtech79 Two wheeled lunatic

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,398
    Location:
    NorCal
    Me thinks it's 18291-MN4-920.
  8. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    Levi - that seems to be the same part number for virtually every Honda bike. I have seen 42mm, 44mm, 45mm etc OD gaskets with the same part number, really annoying!
  9. Samtech79

    Samtech79 Two wheeled lunatic

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,398
    Location:
    NorCal
    That's the part number I ordered from Babbits last.
    Also what is listed in the fisch. Try it, if you get something different then send it back.
  10. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    Well that was annoying, turns out that the exhaust joint wasn't welded up properly right in the 2-into-1 collection joint in a very hard to see place so not the exhaust gaskets as suspected, grrrrrr

    So that's all sorted and the bike is back and running well - I even fitted some winter boots and got out riding:

    20171029_121912.jpg

    I have also discovered a quad racing business on the local little industrial estate around the corner from me has a dyno!! Got to see how the FI is running and maybe fit an EJK or PC and give it a little tune up :)
  11. Samtech79

    Samtech79 Two wheeled lunatic

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,398
    Location:
    NorCal
    Nice! Keep us posted.
  12. 11motos

    11motos Feral Rider

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,201
    Location:
    On the Road
    Awesome work! Many Thanks for sharing all this!
    Maybe I missed the post but any idea about the final weight?
    Thanks.
  13. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    I am off to the weighbridge on Saturday, I'll post up the result!
    11motos likes this.
  14. michaelkozera

    michaelkozera Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,434
    Location:
    calgary
    weigh bridge can do such light loads?

    the weigh bridge by my city told me my crf500L weighs 380-390lb...... but when i weigh it at home with a regular weight scale i get 344.4lb.
    11motos likes this.
  15. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    ah, I say weighbridge but it's actually a scrap metal dealers. They have a lorry weighbridge but it's only accurate to 100kg. However, they have scrap metal scales accurate to 0.5kg that my bike fits on (I weighed my 690 Enduro on that scale in the past).

    I'll take some photos while I am there
    11motos likes this.
  16. 11motos

    11motos Feral Rider

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,201
    Location:
    On the Road
    Many thanks for taking the time to weight the bike.

    It cannot be done on a trailers weight station but also it doesn't have to be super precise.
    Even within a couple of kilos is not going to matter much.

    But I am curious because starting with a much lighter chassis the weight should come down substantially even with a twin engine
    but manufacturers seem to struggle to keep the weight down for popular motorcycles. I think they put too much stuff that is not
    really needed and do not use cost saving methods that can be done inexpensively w/o getting into carbon, Titanium, etc...

    I wonder how much the CB engine weights w. or w/o the throttle body.

    fyi...

    upload_2017-11-2_13-53-39.png
  17. Samtech79

    Samtech79 Two wheeled lunatic

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,398
    Location:
    NorCal
    I used to know that... 91lbs with? Ish...
  18. Scutty

    Scutty Talent-limited bike builder and rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    Sunny Surrey, UK
    So I managed to sneak onto the scales at lunch time but they were busy so no photo but the bike weighs 156.5kg fully fuelled (12.5l)

    A little over the 150 I was hoping for but pretty damn close :)
    outbacktm, FR700, Te Hopo and 3 others like this.
  19. 11motos

    11motos Feral Rider

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,201
    Location:
    On the Road
    Wow! that is amazing! Congrats and thanks for sharing!! :clap:clap:clap

    Can we hire you as a consultant now? lol
    Scutty likes this.
  20. Samtech79

    Samtech79 Two wheeled lunatic

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,398
    Location:
    NorCal
    Nice!
    Scutty likes this.