Cure Your Leaky Engine.....honestly!

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by laramie LC4, Mar 19, 2010.

1. laramie LC4

laramie LC4 flying something...

Oddometer:

first a disclaimer: I AM NOT A PRO- THIS IS NOT MY PRODUCT!. i am just passing along info that was given to me by pro's and the creator of the krankvent. take this info as you will.....i don't need any grief for trying to help.

Got Leaks?

I have been plagued by a run of base gasket issues (REF) and while discussing a possible rebuild with an engine guru, he told me the secret to my problem. he also told me how to solve the issue. the great part is this will will work with ALL large displacement thumpers.

first, the reason this happens;

as the piston and crank rotate inside your case they create alternating pressure waves of positive and negative pressures. engine pulses if you will. as the piston comes down in the stroke you only have a finite area in which to maintain the air that was in that space prior. what happens is the excess pressure pushes the air out the crank breather tubes. this usually vents by one way or another into the airbox. now as the piston begins its travel back up the stroke a vacuum is created. now all that air that was just forced out gets sucked back in. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE ENGINE DOES A REVOLUTION! just imagine how many times this happens during a ride!

this continued fluctuation between the positive and negative pressures puts an incredible strain on the seals and gaskets of the engine. the base gasket being one the biggest culprits. if you ride your bike aggressively, the problems are compounded even more.

so how do we solve this issue ?????