Cyclops Raider Canbus Install

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Spongehead, Jun 26, 2020.

  1. Spongehead

    Spongehead Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    155
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I'm trying to install the Cyclops LED aux light kit and Raider canbus controller and ran into an issue. Naturally, it's Friday night so I probably won't be able to get a hold of them until Monday.

    The only images I can find in their documentation and website show this under the seat:
    upload_2020-6-26_23-10-42.png

    Easy, enough, the controller goes behind the TPMS unit. But on my 2018 GSA it looks like this:

    upload_2020-6-26_23-13-36.png

    Mine has the TPMS unit in the rear portion and something else in front. Anyone know that that other component is? I looked through the manual and can't find it. Wondering if I should try to relocate that or find a different spot for the canbus controller. It's kind of big and I can't wedge it in there.

    Thanks!
    #1
  2. Kewwig

    Kewwig Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Oddometer:
    54
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    That smaller unit detects lean angle and is an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) that is oart of your ABS Pro.
    #2
    ExodusRider likes this.
  3. ExodusRider

    ExodusRider ExodusRider

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Oddometer:
    2,033
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    If I had to guess, I believe that is the emergency keyless sensor where you place your key / plastic key under the wheel well to start the bike up if your key is out of battery.

    Reach under your rear wheel well and find the circle indentation and see if it's directly under the second sensor you are talking about..

    There's probably enough room directly under the rider's seat instead of the pinion.

    If you take off ride seat and plastic cover of pillion frame.. you might be able to rearrange the tpms sensor and cyclops closer under ride seat..
    #3
  4. Spongehead

    Spongehead Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    155
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Damn, guess I won’t mess with that. Thanks.
    #4
  5. Spongehead

    Spongehead Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    155
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I’ll play around with it and see where I can cram it.
    #5
  6. Spongehead

    Spongehead Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    155
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Just in case anyone else installs this kit, this is how I did it. I just turned the TPMS unit sideways.

    9BC35769-A7B3-4070-B95F-9462895D3855.jpeg

    71554FA4-240C-4891-989A-F72BC486CA73.jpeg


    E8CB01A1-C681-458A-98D3-AF1BE7C4D648.jpeg
    #6
    ExodusRider likes this.
  7. Jetskifast

    Jetskifast Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Oddometer:
    83
    Location:
    San Franciso
    Cyclopes makes quality products.
    Installed Aurora 2 inch with amber halo, on my F650GS.
    #7
    Spongehead likes this.
  8. Thomas_Beemer

    Thomas_Beemer Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Oddometer:
    35
    Location:
    Denmark
    Unplug everything and rearrange it as on the picture. Then connect everything with everything. That is my advice. If it is not on the picture you will probably not need it. So just throw it in the bin.
    #8
    handensco likes this.