Dalton Highway two up?

Discussion in 'Americas' started by krgorton, Apr 16, 2019.

1. krgorton

krgorton Adventurer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Hi folks,
    Non-rider wife and I are planning a bucket lister: Alaska in Summer 2020.

Wondering about the wisdom (or lack thereof) of riding the Dalton Highway (Haul Road) two up. I cannot find any stories or posts of folks who've done it two-up although I am sure it's been done and probably many times. I understand that highway can be like pavement in dry weather, but can quickly get sloppy if wet. For safety reasons I would like to do this as part of a group but none of our friends are long-distance bikers so we will probably go by ourselves.

Clearly there are a ton of variables that you cannot know like my skill level. I've been riding our GSA for 8 years and I'm a good rider. Yes, I realize 'good' quantifies nothing, but I also realize I'm probably not as good as I think I am, nor as good as I could be with more practice, so I tend to err on the side of caution, especially when riding with precious cargo.

We ride a BMW R1200 GSA and usually run tires like Anakee Wilds or Heidenau K60s or something similar. She and I have logged many a mile together including some dirt/gravel roads, but never on dirt for such a long distance or in such a remote area.

For those of you who have ridden it, especially if you've ridden it two-up, what should we expect, plan for, definitely do or don't do?

Appreciate any insights.
    Bigbob1 likes this.
  2. X-wing fighter

X-wing fighter Do or Do not, There is no try!!!!!! Supporter

Oddometer:
    Expect mosquitos! Its the only thing you can really plan for! I came up to Alaska in 2012, 2 up on a GSA. I encountered the worst road in my life during that trip(I cried in my helmet, that's how bad it was) and it wasn't the Dalton! But I've seen pictures of bikes on the Dalton that hit on one of those bad days and it sucks! Its a good solid gravel road on most days.