DIRT NAPPER - Self Rescue Device

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by Trialsman, Mar 16, 2018.

1. Trialsman

Trialsman Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    About nine years ago I had time to think as I lay pinned under my Husaberg FE570. My boot had gotten stuck when the bike fell over - wheels up. Even though I was riding with a friend who is a fellow inmate, he was in front and it took him twenty minutes until he realized I was not behind him. I had no way to get out and had nothing within reach to pry the bike off my foot which was pinned against a root. More recently while riding my Guzzi Stelvio NTX I often thought “what if “ I went over when riding alone? This bike is just too heavy for me to even upright if it goes over in a parking lot! I have been playing around with ideas for several years and finally, after 12 or 13 prototypes I had a friend make a tool for self-rescue. He has fifty of them completed and a thread where another inmate had fallen and couldn’t get up sparked me to start this thread. As we get older and the bikes seem to get heavier, it is important we can right a bike that decided to take a "DIRT NAP".

There are an infinite number of variables in this adventure riding sport and sometimes things just happen. I have had one of these strapped behind the seat of each of my bikes testing them for several years. When a nap occurred I would deploy what I now call the DIRT NAPPER and use it to right the bike. Each time, and with many different bikes, I took note of things that might work better if......then I would change the design.

Let me give you some specs so you can see the quality and thought that went into this project.

there are three sections of 0.125” walled 6061 aircraft extruded aluminum tubing 1”x1”x 12.5”
    the base plate is 6061 aircraft alloy and is 3”x 6”x 0.25” thick
    pieces of 0.125” walled 0.75”x 0.75” 6061 tubing span each joint with 2.5” overlap for strength