Doing some TCAT the wrong way, but my way

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by powderzone, Sep 2, 2017.

1. powderzone

powderzone Been here awhile Supporter

Oddometer:
    Prologue
    I'm a bit reluctant to post this RR in the "epic" section after following numerous RTW rides over the years but ultimately decided to do so since I'm riding a section of the TCAT that rarely gets any press, the locals know nothing about it, and when wet...doesn't get ridden. In short, the Prairies sections of the TCAT (and the TAT) gets no respect...no love.
    I've been playing in the Rockies for the last 25 years and it's a brilliant playground but with all the forest fires (and smoke) this summer when the opportunity came up to ride the middle bit of the TCAT, I got really pumped.

21 Aug, 2017 - Calgary to Cypress Hills

The bike is loaded, camping kit packed, my stupid fork is leaky (again), 4 hrs sleep, riding solo, and everyone is wonky with a looming eclipse....what could go wrong?

I'm heading out from Calgary and traveling east on the TCAT through SE AB, all of SK and western MB to meet up with my wife and kids. They're more intelligent so are flying to Winnipeg. I'm taking this comically circuitous route through eastern Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba as though the prairies are trying to redeem themselves for all the boring drives I've done across the bottom third. We'll see.

I've already done about 40% of the TCAT in BC and all of Alberta except for these last few tracks heading SE towards the Cypress Hills so I'm looking forward to what SK has to offer us ADV types.

Here's a few of my escapades this summer. http://advrider.com/index.php?threads/powderzones-adventures-in-the-great-white-north.1231156/

I transited east of Calgary to hook up with the TCAT at Carseland and jumped on the canal roads.

IMG_0353.JPG