Drive Mode Dashboard for Android

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by Rudeboy78, Jan 17, 2020.

  1. John@ThorkRacing

    John@ThorkRacing Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Oddometer:
    137
    Location:
    Portugal, Penafiel
    I will see what i can do about it.

    Actually i can´t reproduce that with any of my devices so i´m afraid it might be a Android version / Manufacturer bug.
    Have you tested in more then one device?
    flamingm0e likes this.
  2. dazzadm

    dazzadm Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,689
    Location:
    Gumboot Capital, NZ
    I tried it on mine and it is repeatable. Start Drive Mode. Tap on Speed widget, nothing. Log tap and reselect Speed, Tap on Speed and you get: Full Screen Speed HUD.

    Ver 6.23
    flamingm0e likes this.
  3. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,371
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I will test it out on a couple other devices this morning.
  4. draco_1967

    draco_1967 Spoon!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    638
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    I just tested it as well and got the same result. Ver 6.24, Samsung S10e
  5. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,371
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Can confirm. Don't even need to open another app. Just hit the settings icon and it will reset the bug.
  6. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    266
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    If a file has multiple tracks, is it possible to use the "open with app" function to export just one of the tracks? If i make only one track visible it still opens all of them in another app.
  7. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,500
    Location:
    NH
    Heck, I was thinking about asking to have Dashboard have an option to handle multiple tracks. Like on a BDR where there are multiple tracks on it be able to open Section 1 only or at least only show it and not the rest, but the next day show Section 2.
  8. John@ThorkRacing

    John@ThorkRacing Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Oddometer:
    137
    Location:
    Portugal, Penafiel
    It´s not possible yet!! BUT.... i´ll make it possible, because, you deserve it young man!

    Can´t handle multi track GPX??? What??? Is DM a joke to you??? Watch this:



    :p It´s already there :p
    With a bonus... it actually cleans waypoints too by checking the waypoints distance to visible tracks.
    919nick, KayDubbya and flamingm0e like this.
  9. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,500
    Location:
    NH
    Gah, I must stand corrected. Sorry about that. For some reason it loaded a earlier version of my BDR build. Went back and reloaded it and all is right. Looking good.

    One question, any chance of adding hill shading (elevation) options to the maps?
  10. John@ThorkRacing

    John@ThorkRacing Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Oddometer:
    137
    Location:
    Portugal, Penafiel
    No need to be sorry, sure you understood my tone was of joking right? :D

    Hummm hill shading is not as easy as it sounds like.
    I´m integrating a new type of map render engine (which will be used for Turn by Turn), i´m trying to decide if i make this engine also default for both GPX Follow/Record, with this engine it might be more simple to add that feature, but it´s something i will need a lot more time to check.
  11. AdvNener

    AdvNener Long timer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,641
    Location:
    Marseille, France
    Hey,

    Going back to a previous short discussion.. any plan to allow gps-less devices to "see" the app in google play? By the way what other restrictions (hardware or software) does the app have?

    Plenty of old funky android devices at home :)
  12. John@ThorkRacing

    John@ThorkRacing Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Oddometer:
    137
    Location:
    Portugal, Penafiel
    This is already implemented for next release.
    DM is not really good on old slow devices.... specially the map view, it can get pretty intense over there.
    AdvNener likes this.
  13. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,500
    Location:
    NH
    I did, just was slapping my head for missing that.

    No rush, just something I use in Locus that I really like (nice to see the surround land features), but I am liking DM's more simple features for loading, recording and handling of GPX. Looking forward to that update when it's ready.
  14. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    266
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    Dang. You're tha man. I feel like I need to buy the app again. I'll just brow beat my riding buddies in to buying it.

    That's no joke. I tried using an old tablet and it was a total turd when browsing the map. So back to the Duraforce.
  15. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,371
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Donate to the man! ;)
  16. John@ThorkRacing

    John@ThorkRacing Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Oddometer:
    137
    Location:
    Portugal, Penafiel
    All you need is here:

    PLEASE RATE THE APP:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.thorkracing.johnkeel.drivemode
    If you want to help out please leave a review / rate on the Play Store!!!

    If you share it on your social networks that would also be great, you can share the Play Store link or share our facebook page:
    https://www.facebook.com/drivemodedashboard/
    flamingm0e likes this.
  17. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    266
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    Did the review a while back. Glad to share on social media but that only gets you about 3 people in my case. We need stickers! $5-10 for a sticker or 3. I'll stick them on other people's bikes while they're not looking.
    flamingm0e and draco_1967 like this.
  18. AdvNener

    AdvNener Long timer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,641
    Location:
    Marseille, France
    Thanks !
  19. dazzadm

    dazzadm Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,689
    Location:
    Gumboot Capital, NZ
    My CI Controller turned up today... time to start learning some new skills...:-)
    flamingm0e likes this.
  20. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,371
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Oh I'm jelly AF!

    Mines still sitting in Czech Republic post office!
    dazzadm likes this.