Dual sport for 5' rider

Discussion in 'Moto Bellissima: All Other Dualsports' started by Purps, May 13, 2016.

1. Purps

Purps n00b

Oddometer:
    Hello I am new to the world of bikes so I just need all the advice I can get. I am 5' and looking specifically for a dual sport to learn on. I checked the shortypants thread but unfortunately people are counting 5'5 as short so a lot of the bikes they recommend for "short" people are still too tall for me. I know I will never double foot and will likely need a lowering kit. I know I don't have a lot of options but the only two bikes that I am aware of so far that I may fit on are an XT250 or a Super Sherpa. Help!!!
  2. BlueLghtning

BlueLghtning Riding is my passion

Oddometer:
    Peachtree City, GA and Full Time RV Travel
    The TW200 has one of the lowest seat heights around. I usually do recommend the XT225 or Sherpa over the TW200 just because they do a little better on the street, but you definitely are on the short side. What is your inseam though? That's usually more important than your actual height.

The CRF230L might even be a little lower than the XT or Sherpa. Actually the Honda comes in a CRF230SM which is the super moto version. It has 17" wheels instead of the 18/21 wheels, but you can run Shinko 244's on it which do good and would help you touch better since it's lower to the ground with out actually lowering the suspension. The other option is looking at something like the KLX250SF which is the Super Moto version of the KLX250S. I know a lady running around on one and she is also only about 5'. She's gotten really good at jumping off to one side though when she stops.

BTW, a lot of dual sport bikes have pretty soft suspension that compresses a lot when you sit on it. Keep it light and you will definitely be better off. Once you master sliding to the side of the seat to get one leg down when you stop, that will help too.
    Purps likes this.
  3. Purps

Purps n00b

Oddometer: