Ducati Telaio Rigido

Discussion in 'Some Assembly Required' started by DesmoDog, Aug 23, 2021.

1. DesmoDog

DesmoDog Desmo was my dog. RIP big guy.

Oddometer:
    This is another long stalled project. I started playing around with it in 2005 I think, spent a year or two on it, then stuffed it in a corner. I recently sold a bunch of projects and retired, so I pulled this one back out to see if it's worth continuing. For now it'll be a recap of what I already did, IAnd it may not get done this time either. In looking at it there are a few things I'd do differently if I was starting on it now, but that's how this stuff works. All the work done to date was done 15 years ago. The idea was to buy as little as possible and use what I had around instead. It was supposed to be a side project with zero cost. I may end up finding a fatal flaw and abandon it for good this time but for now, enough of the pre-ramble. On with the main ramble. I'll start from the beginning.

Back when the chopper craze was at it's height with huge tires and huge engines huge prices I used to joke about building a little bobber to be the antithesis of what all the cool kids were dropping big money on.

I think it was when I ended up with a spare engine that I realized I had most of what I'd need to build one. So I posted a note on the bevelheads list to see if anyone had a neglected (aka CHEAP) frame they'd be willing to let go. The first reply I got was from a buddy who had a frame that fit the bill perfectly (aka FREE). Alrighty then, bluff called. Time to start building a hard tail Ducati. (Thanks again, Rich!)