Duraforce Pro 2 on RAM Wireless Charging Mount?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by Backerthebiker, Nov 23, 2020.

  1. Backerthebiker

    Backerthebiker Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    141
    Location:
    Good Ol' Southern Indiana
    Has anyone tried a Duraforce Pro 2 on a RAM wireless charging mount? I’m hoping to confirm it will charge the phone, before I buy the phone. I bought the mount, thinking it would work with my original Duraforce Pro, but I have a sprint version which uses a different wireless charging protocol.
    #1
  2. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    278
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    Not quite what you asked for, but I have a Duraforce Pro 2 and just got the Motofastpuck wireless charger. Used it this past weekend and can confirm that it was able to charge the phone while screen brightness was at maximum and a GPS app running.
    #2
    ohgood likes this.
  3. Backerthebiker

    Backerthebiker Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    141
    Location:
    Good Ol' Southern Indiana
    That's helpful! I appreciate it!
    #3
  4. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Smoove, Smoove like velvet.

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    34,209
    Location:
    Nippon
    I have the RAM mount, as long as the phone is Qi compliant it should be fine.

    I use an older S6 edge personally.
    #4
  5. Backerthebiker

    Backerthebiker Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Oddometer:
    141
    Location:
    Good Ol' Southern Indiana
    Well, I pulled the trigger on both the RAM charging mount, and the Duraforce Pro 2. It does charge, although it seems to be slow. I'm not sure it's going to keep up with the phone's battery usage, once I get on the road. Will report back.

    Good news is that the Duraforce Pro 2 uses the newer charge port style, which was my main complaint with the original Duraforce Pro. The RAM mount works great for my Iphone, so worse case scenario is that I keep my Duraforce Pro 2 on a wired charge, on an old mount, and use the RAM Charge mount for the Iphone separately. I'll report back after I get some ride time!
    #5
  6. snglfin

    snglfin this statement is untrue

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    736
    Location:
    berkshire county
    #6
  7. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,250
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
  8. snglfin

    snglfin this statement is untrue

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    736
    Location:
    berkshire county
    thanks m0e.
    #8