Enduro Himalaya

Discussion in 'Asia' started by CafeRacer, May 12, 2007.

1. CafeRacer

CafeRacer Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Tell me what you all think...

http://www.endurohimalaya.com/intro.htm

I've never attempted something like this before. I come in to these forums and read all about your adventures but haven't embarked on any of my own.

I've been riding for 3 years and am a WSMC club racer. I'd go next August or Septeber so there's a year to prepare.

Cheers.
  2. drklr

drklr MotoTrvlr

Oddometer:
    Seems like a fun adventure! Of course, that depends a little bit on your comfort with riding off road. From the web site it doesn't seem like the riding will be that challenging for someone comfortable with the bike being a little bit loose. The price sure seems reasonable. Sounds like the trip of a lifetime.
  3. TriggerT

TriggerT Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Having spent a year in Nepal and India, it sounds cool. Get your shots, ALL of your shots. Also, keep an eye on the polital situation prior to going. Thangs can change quickly. The trains in India are...interesting would be one word. Hell, it is supposed to be an adventure, and that is what it looks like it would be. Go, have fun, keep an open mind, and as I always tell people when traveling THINK!
  4. BeachBusker

BeachBusker R.I.P. George

Oddometer:
    As far as preparation goes, I think all you have to do is pay your money, show up at Heathrow, and pray you're not prone to altitude sickness. 200km days are pretty low key.

If you really want to prepare for something in that part of the world, try:
    China Off Road Rally

If you are worried about riding off-road, there are several Baja Tour operators who will give you a great adventure without the altitude problem. They are a lot closer to home and can customize the tours to your riding skills.

But if you only get two weeks a year..........:grinner
  5. pencipa

pencipa Life, is chance...

Oddometer:
    Previous poster mentioned this...