1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

F650GS Twin: looking for more power

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Littlejohn71, Aug 29, 2008.

1. Littlejohn71

Littlejohn71 n00b

Oddometer:
    I just got a BMW F650GS. It has an 800cc motor in it. Anyone know what BMW did to it to make it a 650cc and how I can bump it back to the 800cc that it is.

Cheers

LJ
  2. BikePilot

BikePilot Long timer

Oddometer:
    Err, what makes you think its an 800cc motor? As far as I know (and I'm NOT an expert on F650's) aprillia originally designed and made the motor for BMW and it was largely the same as in the Pego's of the time, except for a different head. The pego's were also 650cc. Anyhow, an 800cc F650 would be pretty cool, but I've not seen one before (assuming you aren't talking about the new twin cylinder bike).
  3. Yad

Yad yet another dave

Oddometer:
    The new F650's are 800cc, BMW did not make it a 650. The 650 in the name is just to confuse people. Did you not receive any information about the bike before you bought it? Sorry, no offense intended but other than the VERY poor choice in the name, BMW isn't keeping the engine differences a secret. The new F650 with an 800 cc engine is the "budget" version - the engine is "detuned" with a milder cam. This lowers the horsepower but apparently was intended to make it easier to ride - smoother power delivery and torque curve. And as a plus, it gets better mileage. I haven't seen the dyno chart so I don't know how different this is from the F800's, but it's definitely be a stronger engine than the "actual" 650 (the older one) so you could enjoy it from that perspective.