F700GS as newbie bike?

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by spurcap, Feb 7, 2020.

1. spurcap

spurcap Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hi all, New here. Thanks in advance for any help.
    Found some similar threads that I read through but no great answer to my specific situation so wanted to get some advice. Sorry for a long first post here!

I am more or less a total newbie but have wanted a bike for a while and am going to finally get started. It will primarily be for short commute rides, taking camping (nothing a pickup truck couldn't drive), and for longer roads trip including maybe a bigger trip in the summer. I rode dirt bikes as a kid which is obviously a lot different than riding a big bike but have SOME riding experience. Also doing the MSF course next month and want to get thinking about a bike now so I am not scrambling with my licence in hand.

I am trying to narrow my search down now and gravitate to the mid-size GSs (specifically, a F700GS or older F650GS (twin)) because - 1) like the look, 2) own lots of BMW cars and am reasonably brand loyal; 3) have no interest in a Sport bike (doesn't look comfy, don't want to take on dirt roads, don't want to be tempted to go too fast) and don't like the cruiser style. 4) the style seems like a good fit for my intended use.