F800GS/F650GS Electrical System Capabilities

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by CrazyMike, Oct 14, 2008.

1. CrazyMike

CrazyMike ***42***

Oddometer:
    First of all....I am not an electrical engineer, but I like to think that I have a basic understanding of how electrical systems work.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    There are several small discussions out there regarding the capacity of the BMW F800/F650GS electrical system and my goal here is to draw those discussions into one thread. Hopefully, this will create a single thread that describes current (read amperage) capabilities of the accessory plugs (a known trait of the BMW CanBus system), the available room to add accessories, and the capabilities to increase the available capacity of the system (either through aftermarket/optional alternators, alternator modifications, or reducing the draw of the standard systems).<o:p></o:p>
    The motorcycles currently have 400W alternator. (I expect the alternator size to grow over the next few years just as it has on other BMW models. Hopefully, those alternators will be direct bolt-on replacements for the current alternator.)<o:p></o:p>
    Questions:<o:p></o:p>
    • Does anyone know what the standard system draws? (Obviously this will be affected by a couple of the features on each motorcycle; <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:stockticker>ABS</st1:stockticker> and heated grips.) <o:p></o:p>
    • What capacity is available to add accessories such as additional lighting, heated accessories, etc.? <o:p></o:p>
    • Can we increase the available capacity of the system by upgrading to HID lights or other methods, thereby reducing the lighting draw and increasing overall capacity? <o:p></o:p>
    • Is it possible to have a motor shop rewind the alternator to increase the alternator output?<o:p></o:p>