F800GS Handlebar replacement

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by oz mal, Nov 8, 2015.

1. oz mal

oz mal Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello ADV Riders,
    Has anyone replaced the handlebars on their F800GS?
    What's involved? What happens with the heated grips? Are they re-usable?
    Any advise and pictures would be appreciated.

Cheers,
    Ozmal.
  2. Wallrat

Wallrat Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    The problem as I understand it is the controls are thru-bolted. To switch to an aftermarket brand means having to drill a hole into the new bars. I'm no expert on bar design but I imagine the engineers at Pro Taper didn't do strength testing with a hole drilled through their bars. One of those weird German engineering solutions where you swear they did shit just to be different.
    oz mal and desertdaves like this.
  3. LavaFrog

LavaFrog Adventurer

Oddometer:
    This worked fine when installing risers and ProTaper bars, no bolt to screw the heated grip portion into(at least when I did this a few years back) So make sure you have the bars in the position you want. Then push your bits and pieces on to the bar. Heated grips still work fine, however, when I pushed my accel side its on there snug, and could not readjust easily. Sorry, no during the mod pictures. I actually, made my grips fatter during this change over.
    oz mal likes this.
  4. Loutre

Loutre Cosmopolitan Adv Super Moderator

Oddometer:
  5. ADVwxyz

ADVwxyz yep

Oddometer:
    and

Hi All,

I replaced my '15 GSA handle bars with Flexxbars.
    Photo 2016-10-13, 3 39 28 PM.jpg

Here is the handlebar I removed. Note the through holes on both the left side and the right side.

Note the handguard attachment points as well on the ends of the bars.

RS Bottom
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/hbcwcab3b3ii0w1/Photo 2016-10-13, 3 45 09 PM.jpg?dl=0

RS Top
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ldpc1hlnai4ywkl/Photo 2016-10-13, 3 46 18 PM.jpg?dl=0

LS Top/Back