F800GS Instrument Cluster

Discussion in 'Australia' started by Oldtom, Apr 25, 2015.

  1. Oldtom

    Oldtom n00b

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Oddometer:
    8
    Location:
    West Oz
    Gedday all long time reader first time poster!
    Been reading through the thousands of threads on the mighty F8 looking for info on faulty instrument cluster. There is a couple threads about faulty instrument clusters but Im still looking for answers. My cluster stopped one day mid ride along a smooth highway. It came to life again shortly after and then stopped a couple of minutes later. I have checked things out and I am sure that there is a loose connection internal of the cluster. Being electronic they are usually throw away items but they are soooo expensive. Id rather spend the $1500 - $2000 on petrol. Does anyone know of who can repair these things in oz or a less expensive fix to get this going again?
    #1
  2. djc

    djc Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oddometer:
    83
    Location:
    brisbane
    hi,dont know a lot about these things,however when I was repairing these bikes I bought a cluster & headlight from motorworks bmw from England for $945.oo landed{this was when the exchange rate was at about62-63}I do have a s/hand cluster, they read incorrectly when plugged into a different vin,i,ve read some where here you can change the chip that controls this?.Im a auto electrician in Brisbane & we send car clusters to various people for repairs,im sure there are people over there that do similar things,it could be as simple as a solder joint at the plug on the board. darren
    #2
  3. Tradey

    Tradey RTW Traveller

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    394
    Location:
    Bairnsdale, VIC, Australia
    I have a GS-911 diagnostic device for my F8. The software can test the instrument cluster. Try and find a local BMW owner who might have one:

    http://www.hexcode.co.za/
    #3
  4. Reklaw59

    Reklaw59 Faster than your Nan.

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,098
    Location:
    Perth. West Oz

    ..or join your local BMW club. http://www.bmwmccwa.asn.au/
    The Perth branch have the diagnostic tool and hold occasional tuning days for members, come on down.
    #4
    ian408 likes this.
  5. Rider 101

    Rider 101 Time poor

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3,423
    Location:
    Avoiding the coal holes Upper Hunter NSW
  6. Oldtom

    Oldtom n00b

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Oddometer:
    8
    Location:
    West Oz
    Fixed the problem by pulling the cluster apart and using a tooth pick push and prob on the electronic components until I found the dodgey one that was causing the intermittent fault. Next problem was to find an electronic guy who would look at it. Found a 70 year old semi retired German fella who went over the board and resoldered it for nothing. True gentleman. But I cannot walk away and not pay so I went and bought him a six pack of German beer. He was a happy man. Put the bits all back together and she went. Two happy people.:rofl:clap:freaky
    #6
  7. kdubachelor

    kdubachelor n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    Malaysia

    Anyone need to fix f800gs instrument cluster can email me (kdubachelor@yahoo.com). I provide repair service for dead cluster or burned faded lcd.

    I have helped someone from oversea (Bali) to repair his unit.
    #7
    richo360 likes this.
  8. ian408

    ian408 Administrator Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    63,671
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Once you replace the cluster, you will need to have the unit programmed-no chip replacement). You also want to get the correct unit for your bike.

    If you just want to take it apart and to repair it, you may want to get a repair kit (gasket/face plate).
    #8
  9. kdubachelor

    kdubachelor n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    Malaysia

    I use back the original board and replace only fault parts, of course need some reprogramming if required. Normally those gasket can be replace if water seal is in bad condition.
    #9
  10. kaiserx

    kaiserx n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    I have been looking for solutions of fixing the instrument cluster on my 2010 F8 but haven't found one.. the bike starts fine but the cluster is not working thou after a while it turns on or the clock stops every time you turn off the ignition and continues only when its turned on or when engine is running. I looked for loose electronic components and used a digital tester to test the capacitors but the figures are fine. Until one day i decided to replace the capacitor coz of the usual symptoms of a failing capacitor and bwala!! its back working again.. sharing this coz this info might save you some sleepless nights and a few hundred bucks of buying another instrument cluster :D.. btw i used the non-smd type coz the smd's are not available at the time just make sure you glue it to prevent it from falling off.

    Attached Files:

    #10
  11. kymbo

    kymbo kymbo

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    479
    Location:
    fleurieu peninsula
    cheers, thanks 4 heads up.
    #11
    kaiserx likes this.
  12. plinz

    plinz Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    351
    Hi

    What year model is yours ??

    Linz
    #12
  13. Reklaw59

    Reklaw59 Faster than your Nan.

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,098
    Location:
    Perth. West Oz

    Can't tell you the specifics but it is the latest model relevant to the new R1200 LC models.
    #13
  14. mikes875

    mikes875 n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Thanks to kaiserx for the fix above for a blank instrument cluster on a F800 or in my case BMW R1200R 2008. Mine was having the same symptoms, clock was not keeping time, when you turn the key off the clock would stop and show the same time when the key was turned on.

    After some months like this, the screen started going completely blank, it would eventually light up a few minutes after the key was turned on.

    I replaced the capacitor indicated by kaiserx and the clock now keeps time and the speedo, lcd etc work perfectly.

    To remove the capacitor I used wire cutters to cut it in half, removed the old broken bits and then soldered on the new one (note the polarity as can be seen in kaiserx photos).

    The most difficult part was removing the needles without marking the face. To do this I put thin cardboard over the face to protect it and used 2 teaspoons, one on each side to lever it off.

    Very happy indeed given the capacitor was about 30 cents v's a new instrument cluster was well over $1k.

    Great having the clock keeping time again too.
    #14
  15. Happy Snapper

    Happy Snapper GOMOB.

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,894
    Location:
    Brisbane, almost heaven!


    Awesome... at MAX Instruments we used to twist the pointers off..... gently.

    Your t spoon idea sounds good!
    #15
  16. stoz

    stoz n00b

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    9
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Hello
    What size was the capacitor. Mine has failed and it looks like a 100 micro farad 16volt. Is that correct?
    Thanks
    Stoz
    #16
  17. kaiserx

    kaiserx n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    3569E7D2-3A31-447D-8961-E3B71D6F06F0.png
    yes its a 100uF capacitor.. just make sure of the polarity (+/-)
    #17
  18. bellgae1

    bellgae1 n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    Denver
    Can I ask you how you got your case apart? I was just involved in an accident where the glass is all smashed out on mine and I took the instrument cluster off, took all of the screws and plugs out but still cannot get the front faceplate off.
    #18
  19. kaiserx

    kaiserx n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Philippines
    Hi, you have to take the dial pins and the face first then remove the screws indicated in the pics.. lift it a bit and push a little to the right to detach it from the plastic back cover.. sorry for the late reply btw

    Attached Files:

    #19
  20. stoz

    stoz n00b

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    9
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Thanks all complete and working fine.
    #20
    ricardokv likes this.