1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

F800GS One wheel in the grave?

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Cyrotronix, Jul 16, 2020.

1. Cyrotronix

Cyrotronix Should I do it? ... I'm going to do it.

Oddometer:
    Greetings all, long time lurker here hoping for some advice.

I have a 2013 F800GS, almost 49,000 miles. I've owned it for 3 years and put 30,000 of those miles on myself. I'd like to think I know a thing or two about it, but I'm far from an expert.

A couple weekends ago it had a nasty failure, the plastic gearwheels for the oil pump spun the teeth right off. I shut it off right away after hearing the top end get nice and loud. Today I put it back together with a fresh oil change of course. The motorcycle fired right up and seemed to be running great. I took it out for a test ride, no more than a mile and a half and while I was pulling back into my driveway the back tire locked up and the engine died. Wouldn't turn back over.

My first assumption was there had been damage done from the lack of oil to the top end (Haven't ruled that out yet.) Brought the bike into the garage and let it set a moment. Tried starting it again. It turned over, but weakly. I let it sit a little longer (Maybe 2-3 minutes) and then it fired right back up like nothing was wrong. I let it run for a minute and it seemed fine, but I haven't touched it sense in fear of truly ruining the thing.

I did not get a look at the temp gauge when it shut off (shame on me), but I can say that engine was hot hot hot. More so than I would consider normal for that short of a ride. Maybe I mucked something up when I was in there? Seems odd to me, the water pump is on the other side.

Any ideas?

Also, does anyone know how to check for oil pressure on that bad boy?