F800GS Power outlet convert to fused

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by jessehere, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. jessehere

    jessehere Ridin'

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Oddometer:
    879
    Location:
    Jersey(EXIT 10)
    I would like to convert the Power outlet to a fused input direct to battery. Anyone know the part number for the pain in the ass 2 pin plug that connects to powerlet outlet under the tank cover?
    I wanna power up air compressor, etc, etc. and don't need the canbus (feature?) for this.
    #1
  2. PhilSpace

    PhilSpace The Ex-Gov

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    36,103
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    There are other posts on this. I would leave it alone and install a second outlet on the other side of the same panel.

    I bought a powerlet 12" fused pigtail and a matching BMW style power plug (powerlet lists the BMW part numbers), removed the panel and drilled a hole on the other side of the key and it was done and back on in half an hour.
    #2
  3. jessehere

    jessehere Ridin'

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Oddometer:
    879
    Location:
    Jersey(EXIT 10)
    other side is full don't need 2 powerlets anyway. just need the plug part #
    [​IMG]
    #3
  4. Magile

    Magile Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,101
    Location:
    HVL, NC
    This kit should do what you want to do, BMW iCAN Stock Socket Rewire Harness 12" :

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    from http://www.powerletproducts.com/product/bmw-ican-stock-socket-rewire-harness-12/199

    Or see this post about adding a 2nd outlet - http://f800riders.org/HoW/showentry.php?e=29&catid=6

    Cheers, M.
    [oops...you beat me to the list...I see you don't want a 2nd outlet]
    #4
  5. jessehere

    jessehere Ridin'

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Oddometer:
    879
    Location:
    Jersey(EXIT 10)
    Thanks Magile... Looks good and simple
    #5
  6. PhilSpace

    PhilSpace The Ex-Gov

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    36,103
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    That is the kit/connector I used, I don't think it's the same diameter as the original CANBUS power outlet.
    #6
  7. jessehere

    jessehere Ridin'

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Oddometer:
    879
    Location:
    Jersey(EXIT 10)
    Yea the plug if differnt too. maybe cause of the higher 15a capacity. anyway im sure it i'll work fine with help from dewalt.
    thanks all!:clap

    edit-Dang-Philspace THX, I just checked the bike... the oem outlet is mounted in a recesss (visble in above picture)

    might still need the BMW repair part (plug) for the oem powerlet anyone got a part number? i'd rathert leave canbus pulg hanging and get a new plug.
    #7
  8. itsatdm

    itsatdm Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,440
    Location:
    Nor Ca.
    Can the under the tank connector be used to trigger a relay? That way you could have switchable power for a device that draws more than 5 amps.
    #8
  9. PhilSpace

    PhilSpace The Ex-Gov

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    36,103
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    I'd either use the parking light up front or the GPS power connector, which will leave the power on for about 20 seconds after the bike is turned off.
    #9
  10. RobTheRigger

    RobTheRigger Killing threads here since 2008

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    674
    Location:
    SW Idaho
    Pics are on the wife's PC, so I'll have her email them to me and post them up. I got a BMW socket from Riderwearhouse and wired a rocker switch to that in a Radio Shack project box going to an AP-1 under the faux tank. I thought about doing what you suggest but I didn't want to dick around with the CANbus at all. Hope that helps! Pics later.

    Rob
    #10
  11. Magile

    Magile Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,101
    Location:
    HVL, NC
    Powerlet shows 2 types of BMW sockets, depending on year. Looks like they take different plug designs too. Here you go -

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    I'm adding this to my F8 today, will pix tonight. - M
    #11
  12. PhilSpace

    PhilSpace The Ex-Gov

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    36,103
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    The 042 is the new CANBUS version, connector is only rated to something like 5A. The older one on the left is spec'ed to a much higher load and has a right angle connector on the pig tail requiring less clearance, which can come in handy depending on where you mount it.

    I always use the older style and fuse the sucker at 10 - 15A.
    #12
  13. Magile

    Magile Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,101
    Location:
    HVL, NC
    I bought a PKT-067-12 a few weeks back at MAX BMW. They recommended this is what's needed to rewire the standard F800GS socket (next to the ignition key). I tried to install it today. No go. :bluduh

    I next phoned the folks at Powerlet to find out what I really needed. They confirmed the our standard socket is 5 amps only ; they do not recommend using it for high loads ie electric clothing. Powerlet recommends I replace the standard socket with BMW p/n 61131391630 (below). But it costs $41.25 on the MAX parts website. I'll try to source a used one.

    [​IMG]

    This is what I should have bought, the PKT-042-12 kit, $39.95, which includes a new 15 amp socket.
    [​IMG]

    - M
    #13
  14. PhilSpace

    PhilSpace The Ex-Gov

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Oddometer:
    36,103
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    I have done that on my ST, the GS and two GT's only way to go.
    #14