FactoryPro Jet Kit...cure for what ails your carbs!

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by Gixxer2go, May 16, 2005.

  1. wsmc99

    wsmc99 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    564
    Location:
    SD, CA.
    Okay I can now offer more input after a 1300 mile trip.
    Yes, the Factory settings are too rich. While it runs pretty well at sea level to about 4000 feet once you hit 6000-8000 feet it's evident that the motor is getting too much fuel. I noticed the mid-range to be quite good though. Now I have to take it apart and start over...
    #41
  2. wsmc99

    wsmc99 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    564
    Location:
    SD, CA.
    Msusslin,
    Could you elaborate on the options you tried and your location (sea level?).
    I would like to use the Factory Kit if possible and like to hear why you ultimatley didn't. Was the mid-range setting the issue?

    I assume the setup you arrived at was with stock needles at #3 clip and A/F screws about 2 turns out?

    Thanks

    #42
  3. msusslin

    msusslin DirtMeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Trail heaven Sierra foothills
    The best advice would be to take the bike to a shop with a dyno and try to set it up the best you can with the Factory Pro kit. We ran out of time and could not find a good setting with the kit and that’s why we ended up with a stock needle and main setup, which works great. The dyno curve is great and with more time we could have found some more top speed horsepower. At 9500 rpm the peak hp was 92 and I saw dyno curves, on other bikes, all away up to 98 hp with the same setup I have now. If you have enough time on the dyno you might be able to get a good dyno curve with the Factory Pro kit, but it seemed that the taper on the needle prevented a good setup in mid range.

    <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>

    Good luck.
    #43
  4. msusslin

    msusslin DirtMeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Trail heaven Sierra foothills
    "I assume the setup you arrived at was with stock needles at #3 clip and A/F screws about 2 turns out?" correct and the mains are 160 / 165 and 42 pilot

    I'm at 600 feet and the setup was done in San Francisco.
    #44
  5. K2m

    K2m ....58....

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,238
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Try dropping your float level .3 to.5 mm
    #45
  6. wsmc99

    wsmc99 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    564
    Location:
    SD, CA.
    So am I correct on the set up there? Where did you get to with the Factory kit? I'm trying not to do this too many times.
    I'm in San Diego so the setting should be same same!
    The help is greatly appreciated.
    #46
  7. msusslin

    msusslin DirtMeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Trail heaven Sierra foothills
    Where did you get to with the Factory kit? <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>

    <o:p> </o:p>

    Nowhere, since the taper on the needle seems to be wrong to get a good dyno curve through midrange. Between 2000RPM and 4000RPM it was running way rich at whatever setting we tried and could not make it work with the time on hand. You may be able to find a suitable setting if you have enough time to play around on a dyno. I would certainly not setup the bike with the kit blindfolded, which you would be without the dyno. I shelved the kit entirely and used all KTM standard components for the best results. If you look at my first post, I stated that Factory Pro should back up their recommendations with dyno curves, and not just with 2003 data. Additionally, I was told the same findings from my friends in <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:place>Europe</st1:place>.<o:p></o:p>
    #47
  8. KTMax

    KTMax Ninth of the Nazgul

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,099
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    :augie ...... :D ......
    #48
  9. FarmerRick

    FarmerRick Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,307
    Location:
    Kirkland, TN
    I too, pulled the Factory Pro kit and went back to stock. I had great mid and high range with the FP kit but could never get the idle to settle down after riding which resulted in a hang about 2k and no engine braking. Air Idle set between 2.25 an 3.25 turns with no noticeable difference.

    After 5 tear downs and tunes, I have given up for the moment. I still think it's solvable but.... I'm planning on riding the next couple of weeks so... maybe in September....

    Rick
    Franklin, TN
    #49
  10. K2m

    K2m ....58....

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,238
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Your not!......... The needle needs to be on the second clip

    Do not listen to KTMAX as he is to embarrassed to admit that he also runs the factory kit. Summer installed it, and his runs perfect.


    Msusslin by his own admission ran out of time to tune it.

    What you really need is a wideband oxygen sensor. http://wbo2.com/

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][/img][/img]
    #50
  11. RedFlash

    RedFlash Go Cubs!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,440
    Location:
    Home of the Chicago Cubs!
    First, I upgraded the exhaust to the Wings Ti cans...

    ...then I did the Factory Pro mod.

    Well, after running the FP needles @ 2nd clip from top, mains at 170/175 and then at 175/180, and the 45 pilot, the results are as follows:

    Great bottom end, I mean really good, like WOW!;

    Better top end, though a bit "raspy";

    Horrible middle band!

    Specifically:

    From about 4500 rpm to 6000 rpm the vibration is so bad that I cannot even ride the bike for more than an hour, without my hands going dead numb. This tuning includes synchronizing the carbs and checking the choke cable not overly tight (mine was, initially, on the front carb).

    So, it's back to the stock needles (at 3rd clip from top), stock mains, and leaving the pilot at 45. My original objective was to set up a bike that ran well, not pursuing a golden talisman to hyper-performance. Maybe the latter is the intention of the folks at FP. It does not meet my needs.

    I'll post some photos of the needles when I get the carbs disassembled this week.
    #51
  12. wsmc99

    wsmc99 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    564
    Location:
    SD, CA.
    Okay I'm getting confused here: FP Kit on #2 (which is where mine are), stock needles on #3 (which is where they were) is what I think is correct. That's what I've heard from most.

    So KTMax? What's in your carbs? :ear

    My thoughts are to go from 175/180 and 2-1/2 turns out to 170/175 and 2 turns out. Clips on slot #2 of the FP needles or Stock needles at #3 and 160/165.
    #52
  13. KTMax

    KTMax Ninth of the Nazgul

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,099
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Don't make such a fool out of yourself K2M... :rofl

    @wsmc99: Stock needles, 2.5 from top, raised centre section between the tanks and yes K2M is right, it really runs perfect... :D
    #53
  14. K2m

    K2m ....58....

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,238
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    How interesting...... 2nd stock is to lean...... 3rd is to rich down low.... I agree

    Before going to the FP kit I ran a #40, 2.5 (actually I put the clip on one and put both the thick and thin washers under it with another on top giving the same result) and 155-160..... This is the best it has run

    With the FP kit I have run a #38, 2 and 160-165 giving near perfect A/f ratios.... but drive-ability leaves a bit to be desired.....

    I don't mind being a fool Max if it gets you to make constructive comments that enriches all our lives. :D

    What is a "raised centre section between the tanks"? Do you mean around the snorkel..... or the air box lid itself.....?:ear
    #54
  15. wsmc99

    wsmc99 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    564
    Location:
    SD, CA.
    And your mains? Idle jets (42 or 45)?
    #55
  16. KTMax

    KTMax Ninth of the Nazgul

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,099
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    stock... stock...
    #56
  17. hogmolly

    hogmolly Dude

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,245
    Location:
    McKinney, TX and San Jose, CA
    I run my needles in the "2" position, 160/165 jets, and the stock 42 idle jet. My bike runs great and still pulls off 38-40 mpg on the open road. I tried to run my needles in the "3" position but it was way too fat down low.
    #57
  18. msusslin

    msusslin DirtMeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Trail heaven Sierra foothills
    That is the setup which works great for me as well. The bike pulls hard whatever throttle position.
    #58
  19. motoman250f

    motoman250f Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Oddometer:
    812
    I'd run my needles in #2 but I have the smog stuff removed, ktm race exhaust and sommer airbox. now its in #3 it's a lot faster at 50 degrees but at 80 degrees it gets a small bog from fast throttle wack off idle(rich). It also starts with no choke and never backfire's even at cold temp.
    Ive been thinking about shimming between 2 and 3 but max you answered my question!!! Your just shimming between 2 and 3? What is your air screws set at? would you be afraid of running your bike at sea level at 40 degrees? thanks!
    #59
  20. wsmc99

    wsmc99 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    564
    Location:
    SD, CA.
    So earlier you stated that the stock setup was way too lean and all you've had to do to remidy the situation is shim the needles a half step? Seems they (KTM) weren't that far off...
    #60