Fair winds and following seas

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by Sparks912, Jan 9, 2017.

1. Sparks912

Sparks912 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hello,
    This will be the log of my journey from Florida to Argentina. Departure date is 1-10-2017.
    My name is Allen. I am a sailor by trade and have been sailing commercially for a while now. Started out commercial fishing Cook Inlet in Alaska. Worked for the Alaska Marine Highway for several years. Also sailed with some offshore supply companies in Alaska and the Gulf of Mexico. Yes I was in the Arctic for a controversial project. Latest gig was hauling fuel up and down the west coast. Grew up between Alaska and Seattle. Riding dirt bikes through the yard and on our own track. Loved it. Fast forward to today and I'm packing up the last little bit to take my bike on the longest trip I've ever taken.
    The bike I'm riding is a 2015 BMW F800GSA. It's big and heavy and not a looker. So I call her Loretta. We are leaving Cape Coral Florida and headed to Denver for a new rear wheel and then to California for some training at Rawhyde on the 20th. I'm not sure if I'll end the journey at Argentina or if I'll be able to continue around the world. Only time will tell.

Attached Files:

2. Dessert Storm

Dessert Storm Dances With Drunks

Oddometer:
    Look forward to this!

In.
  3. Sparks912

Oddometer:
    On the road. Was pretty tough to leave the family behind but they are extremely supportive and have encouraged me to take this trip. Couldn't ask for more than that. The route I'm on is keeping me fairly close to the gulf coast as I make my way west. Stopped for some lunch in Chiefland FL. These roads in Florida are pretty dull. Feels great to be on the move though.

Attached Files:

10ecjed and Foiler like this.
  4. Sparks912

Oddometer: