farkling metal chips

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rarepartbuilder, May 23, 2014.

1. rarepartbuilder

rarepartbuilder redemption gypsy

Oddometer:
    Hi Folks
    I'm new to ADV but been around the net abit... some here may know me and my projects from other places or times ..its all been a great experience for me. Besides sharing some of the bike items i build ,i'm hoping to get and gather project idea's from this very active adv group as i go. Since winter is over ..the thread might be a bit slow right now but i plan on posting up some of the bike items i've build over the last couple of off seasons...then when it gets cold ..well you know how it goes..:hide

You will hear me reference "olive" a bit on the builds..

[​IMG]

She is very talented but not just any shop dog..there is one thing she does the best... names my favorite beverage...:1drink

you can learn more about Olive HERE

ok.. bike stuff
    this was the first add on "bike parts" i'd built

the bike was missing something besides a rider when i bought it..handguards!

[​IMG]

I had a junk of scrap 8" aluminum pipe to cannibalize... looked like it had its better days..:wink: so i hacked off a piece

[​IMG]

to turn the aluminum pipe i turned out an end plug

[​IMG]

mounted..and got started.. thing was a bit warped and twisted huh

[​IMG]

turned...

[​IMG]

i had some old bar clamps to recycle..and use as an attachment anchor point for the guards..get those..

[​IMG]

made a template of my vision of a hand guard besides impact protection.. i wanted my hand to be protected from the cold wind on late season rides

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

apply template to stock..mirror image for left side just flip that puppy over

[​IMG]

rough saw the pipe...weapon of choice... the skill saw with any old carbide blade and a wax stick for lube. The pipe is well clamped to keep it from moving or launching itself..

safety first

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]