Father/Son TAT Trip 2016/2017 (finally finished)

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by MikeIreland, Nov 28, 2016.

1. MikeIreland

MikeIreland Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    My dad (Drogo on here) and I had been talking about riding the TAT for a few years and finally decided to pull the trigger and lock in the vacation dates. We settled on Oct 1st to start the trip. We didn't know if we would make it over the Rockies in Oct or not but decided to roll the dice. Neither of us wanted to ride in the heat of the summer.

The bikes

I'm riding my 2015 WR250R. I love this machine. The best bike (for me) I have ever owned. I have put over 7k miles on it since buying it new in June of 2015.

My dad is riding his 2011 KLR650. He also bought it new and says that it is one of the best fitting bikes that he has had. Not sure of mileage on his bike. Around 10k I think?

Drogo lives in Northern NM and decided to truck his bike to my house in Dayton, OH. He arrived on Thurs evening Sept 29. We got his bike unloaded, opened some beers and started sorting gear and talking about the trip. I had to get up the next morning and go to work one more time before the trip started so we a had a couple more beers and went to bed.

After work the next day we started loading the bikes. I decided to do a last minute tire change on my bike. The Kenda Trak Master that I had on it still had some life but I wasn't sure how much so decided to spoon on the new Dunlop 606. The front tire (an IRC Battle Rally) only had about 1k miles on it and still looked great. I wasn't very impressed with this tire off road but decided to just roll with it since it was still like new.
    20160930_152049.jpg

Attached Files:

2. MikeIreland

Oddometer:
    At this point we really hadn't decided how we were going to get to Tellico Plains to start the TAT. My wife offered to ride down with us and haul the empty truck and trailer back. We accepted!