Federweisser, Verdun, Flanders Fields and the Rhineland

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by JMead11, Oct 26, 2011.

1. JMead11

JMead11 Crazy Bastard

Oddometer:
    I seem to have made it a habit to be in Europe this time of year, October, as I have been doing it for several years now. It makes a nice break in the year, especially since it is still usually hot here in Arizona where I live, yet seriously much cooler there and thus a much more enjoyable riding experience. Coupled with the possibility of seeing some great things along the way, it makes it all a very worthwhile experience despite being such a far trip to make.

[​IMG]

So my summer here in Arizona was not the best. I was finishing up rehabbing a house when big storms came and blew the roofs off of my father’s business…..meaning I spent the month of July roofing instead of by a lake or beach somewhere. While I did adjust to being outdoors better this year than others, I was still looking at getting some cold air on me as soon as I could, which was a one week vacation in October from work. It was a little earlier this year than the others by a week, but that gave me hope of safer weather as snow has been known to fall within days of my departure in the past.
    My trip usually begins with a long drive from Tucson to Phoenix to catch an early flight, but this time it began close to home, and at Tucson International Airport. I had the joy of meeting several of my students at the airport that morning as they were off on a school trip with our principal to Washington D.C. on a flight just before mine. My students that were there were shocked to see how little I was taking with me….some motorcycle gear and my helmet. I never take clothes back and forth anymore as I just leave them in the luggage of my TransAlp so I do not waste any space. After so many trips of hauling clothes back and forth I realized finally how silly it was.