FEMALE riding solo to Alaska needs help!!!

Discussion in 'Alaska' started by dsmitty, Aug 4, 2005.

1. dsmitty

dsmitty motorcycle soul

Oddometer:
    Hi Guys and Gals,
    My buddies at ktmtalk sent me your way. From reading the posts you folks are definitely who I need to talk to...
    Here's the story, last weekend some riding buddies were in town for the ktm adventure rally. I live in a tiny town in Colorado, called Ridgway. We went up to Ouray hung out, saw a great Dakar flick. Anyway, they started talking about a trip they were taking to Canada, I said I wanted to go, they said okay. I looked at the map, and decided I would be way too close to Alaska to not venture over. I figured at Banff I would cut over and visit the last great frontier. I even bought a new bike, I didn't think my KLR would keep up with their 1200/1300 bikes. THEN, I get the phone call...one of the buddies wives vetoed me going!!! Background here, I am a 5'8' blond, I model for a living, and I am a hell of a lot of fun!!! Apparently this did not sit well with her?? But, to be fair, it could have also been the guys way of ditching me, thinking a "girl" would not be able to hang. Since I rode my F3 From Denver to LA, 1100 miles in 17 hours I knew I would be fine. Not to mention many weekends of lots of miles. I live for Epic adventures! But I had lost my vote!! And honestly, I love biker wives, usually they are the coolest people I know!! I would never intentionally upset them.

I was so amped up for the trip, bought my bike, bags, crashbars, skid plate, heated liners, riding the bike like crazy so my boys can do a service on Tim(my bike's name, after a dead friend) get it all ready to go. SO, I said FUCK EM, I will go by myself!!!! I 'm not scared, okay maybe a little. But, after living in LA having a shot gun held to my head, being duck taped and left on my living room floor, I think I can handle 4-5000 miles with Tim!!!