[Finished] Austin -> DC, Pretty Curves and Excruciating Sunburns

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by Milqman, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Milqman

Milqman Adventurer

Oddometer:
    2 Summers ago I spent 3 months riding around the US [Ride Report Here], but I haven't done a single trip longer than 100 miles since then, and nothing on my current bike.

I'm a little worried the scope of this week trip wasn't epic enough to post here, but the only other forum is day trips and that doesn't really fit this either. Where's the "week trips" forum? I'm a big noob and sorry if I broke the rules with this post.

[​IMG]

In December 2018, an ADVrider @Saltheman stayed with me on his coast to coast trip. [His ride report here] and I've ever since he left I've been seriously itching for an excuse to adventure.

I finished my commercial pilot training and accepted a job living on the road doing aerial survey. No home, no base, live wherever the plane and jobsite is, travel all over north america. Perfect. So I sold all of my belongings, had an unfortunate breakup with my girlfriend, and got ready to road-trip my motorcycle back to DC to put it in storage with my parents.

[​IMG]

Here's the google timeline recording of my basic route.

First thing were some quality of life improvements. My best friend in Austin is a BMW motorcycle mechanic and managed to snag some cases from a total'd bike that insurance didn't take when they collected the bike from his shop. Tossed some stickers on it and boom, looks almost like I'm not trying to cover damage with stickers. He thought my exposed charging cable was ugly, so we ran power under plastic so I could charge my phone with a clean looking bike.

[​IMG]
    "Be Safe :) - Love Dan"

Day 1: Excruciating fuck up. Austin ---> Memphis

I wanted to go Austin--> NoLA --> Atlanta, but there was rain all along the southern coast, so I hit up a friend in Memphis who was out of town but let me stay at his place.

[​IMG]