First time track bike?

Discussion in 'Road Warriors' started by redneckK20, Jun 19, 2021.

1. redneckK20

redneckK20 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hey guys, what's up? I discovered early this year that about 2 hours away from me they're building a beautiful 3.87 mile road course in the rolling hills of central MO.

For those who don't want to read :with 14 years of good street experience, what sport bike would you buy for a track bike for a long course?

I've been riding on the street for about 14 years now. Started on a Bandit 600, racked up 30k+ miles and ground the pegs to a sharp point cornering it beyond what it wanted. My neighbor ever so kindly ran it over with her Civic so I replaced it with a 2002 R1.

Loved the bike to death, rode the piss out of it on the road. Was always too broke to pony up for full leathers and trackdays, so just enjoyed street riding. Put 34k miles on it. Ended up buying a 2012 Super Tenere brand new and falling in love with Adv bikes. Kept the R1 with the Tenere for about a month before selling the R1 because I rode the Tenere 95% of the time.

Loved the Super Tenere but it was porky and a bit slow. I moved to the city in Texas and had no gravel nearby to explore or anything really fun besides dirt bike parks. Did that a while, racked up 30k on the ST, then unfortunately had an old lady in a Buick pull out in front of me and total it.

I weighed my options, living in the city I wanted a quick naked bike and cheap is good, so I bought a 2015 FZ09 brand new. Loved the style and motor, hated the suspension. Was making a little more money, so I sunk some cash and time trying to make it handle decent. Bought leathers, was planning on booking my first track day. Ended up hitting a turtle in a blind corner (going a little too fast on the street) and totaling that bike.