Forum Appearance and Usability Tweaks

Discussion in 'Ask Baldy, Blame Cannonshot' started by James Adams, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. MikeyT

    MikeyT Krusty Olde Pharte

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    8,541
    Location:
    The Thumb of Michigan
    There was a way to eliminate all posts in a thread but the OPs before. Can we get that back?
    #41
  2. wxwax

    wxwax Excited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    103,950
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You mean that menu of who posted in a thread? And you click on a name and you get their posts?
    #42
  3. Hatch

    Hatch PAR OG

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,720
    Location:
    Wherever the van's parked
    I dont see this anywhere on my phone.. I agree with snowmule, this isnt nearly as useful as maybe a link to a page listing my previous posts?
    #43
  4. R1200GSA

    R1200GSA Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Oddometer:
    476
    Location:
    The Woodlands, TX
    Will this function return? Please, pretty please, and oh for the love of all things good, PLEASE!!!!
    #44
    Zanotti likes this.
  5. James Adams

    James Adams Grizzly User Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    16,653
    Location:
    Grand Junction
    You can see all of your previous posts by hovering over your name in the top right corner of the screen and clicking on "Your Content".
    #45
  6. MrKiwi

    MrKiwi Love my Tranny Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    12,892
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Loving the new site. Well done...
    #46
  7. Hatch

    Hatch PAR OG

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,720
    Location:
    Wherever the van's parked
    :thumb thank ya sir!
    #47
  8. johnjen

    johnjen Now, even more NOW!…

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Oddometer:
    16,998
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAhahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

    And OH so true… :thumb

    JJ :lurk
    #48
  9. MikeyT

    MikeyT Krusty Olde Pharte

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    8,541
    Location:
    The Thumb of Michigan
    No, I meant the "The thread De-crufter."
    #49
  10. wxwax

    wxwax Excited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    103,950
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    TIL that multiquote doesn't work across threads.
    #50
  11. Mossy_Crk

    Mossy_Crk Fallen over

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,490
    Location:
    Between the bike and the ground
    What theme are you using? I use it across threads all the time. It doesn't work across tabs, or with the back button though.
    #51
  12. wxwax

    wxwax Excited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    103,950
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Revo. I tried it a day or two ago and I did not get the "insert quote" button. No biggie, I just did it the old-fashioned way, cut-n-paste from the other thread.
    #52
  13. TrashCan

    TrashCan Scary Jerry

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Oddometer:
    11,949
    Location:
    Louisville, Tn


    Three different threads, works with I devices.
    #53
  14. wxwax

    wxwax Excited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    103,950
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Interesting. I wonder if it relates to my cookie settings? I don't allow third party cookies.
    #54
  15. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    9,628
    Location:
    Around Denver
    When I click on Ignore Thread, I'm given several options of how I want to ignore the thread.

    Seems to me the boxes ought to be checked by default. I have to click all three boxes to ignore the thread.

    Jamie
    #55
  16. James Adams

    James Adams Grizzly User Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    16,653
    Location:
    Grand Junction
    Great catch! Give it a try now...

    New defaults:
    [​IMG]
    #56
    Jamie Z likes this.
  17. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    9,628
    Location:
    Around Denver
    That's it! Good show.

    Jamie
    #57
  18. wxwax

    wxwax Excited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    103,950
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Here's one.

    The quote function limits now much text you display, with a "click to expand" appearing.

    That's fine if you're quoting a post. But what about when you want to show that your text is a quote from an outside source and is not your own writing? That's been a traditional use of the quote box. But now it no longer works as well. That's because the text is neatly cut off after a sentence. And people probably won't realize there's more. The Click to Expand direction is small and easily overlooked.

    For example:

    #58
  19. James Adams

    James Adams Grizzly User Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Oddometer:
    16,653
    Location:
    Grand Junction
    So, basically, if it's not an ADV forum post that's being quoted, we should have it show the full quoted text. :hmmmmm
    #59
  20. wxwax

    wxwax Excited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    103,950
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    :nod That's the idea. I can see the problem, though.
    #60