From No Place Through Nothing to Nowhere

Discussion in 'Adventure On Four Wheels' started by old1959, Oct 29, 2020.

1. old1959

old1959 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I recently wandered out to the Big Bend area, and I'm using the word "area" loosely since I spent a night in New Mexico which isn't officially part of Big Bend, to experience things which I have never done in Big Bend. I have been venturing to the area since 1996 when the Trail Riders of Houston, courtesy of the legendary Burl Hughes (RIP), started hosting AMA National Dual Sport rides in Terlingua. For me traveling by motorcycle is fun, but does limit, at least for me, the ability for some other adventures so for this trip I took my 2020 Outback named SubieDo. Also, joining my on this trip was a lovely lady friend "T".

At Fort Lancaster I saw the catchy quote which I'm using for the title.
    IMG_5545.JPG
    Bucho likes this.
  2. old1959

old1959 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    First thing to accomplish was to spend a night at the Gage Hotel in Marathon, I have never visited this place. I have driven by numerous times along with having read about the hotel; If you think this thread is going to be about roughing it in the high winds while sleeping on the ground, I can assure this will not be the case. However, the lodging options are different than most and probably most of you have never experienced. Dinner at the 12 Gage restaurant was outstanding and in the morning we experienced a wonderful "Marathon Muffin" at the V6 Coffee Bar. Highly recommend both.
    IMG_5467.JPG
    IMG_5466.JPG
    And yours truly getting ready to experience another lap around the sun.:D
    IMG_5468.JPG
    Please no need to mention that I'm a handsome guy:lol3
  3. old1959

old1959 Been here awhile

Oddometer: